Spend, spend, spend…..

red_pepper_oloroso_0012

Today, I have been writing, cooking and taking pictures which, to my mind, has been time well spent. My principal currency is time and, as it cannot be saved, I spend freely of it. The house is quiet and the kitchen is sunny. Such an atmosphere makes food and photography blossom . Pastry and cakes having been made, I was finishing off by making an intense tomato sauce for a pasta that we will eat tomorrow night. I had roasted a red pepper, part of which I added to the pasta sauce, and part of which I had for my lunch, mixed with anchovies, capers and fine slivers of garlic. The colours and the look of the dish made me think of Spain, which made me think of sherry, which made me pour a glass of a wonderful amber coloured, chilled, dry oloroso.

oloroso_0002

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, anchovies, capers, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Kitchens, pasta, peppers, Photography, photography course, Vegetables, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Spend, spend, spend…..

  1. Sally says:

    Absolutely beautiful post this one. Wise words, evocative thoughts and ethereal pics.

  2. sabine says:

    Sounds like a good day…I hope.

  3. lulu says:

    Your posts and photos give me such pleasure. I hope once, just once, to take a photo I like as much as I like yours. I keep working at it.

  4. It’s so nice to have a productive and relaxing (re-balancing even!) food prep day! The nice weather doesn’t hurt either 🙂

  5. rhiannong says:

    “writing, cooking and taking pictures” sounds like the perfect day! I’m terribly jealous.

  6. Oloroso and anchovies. Some of my favorite things. You capture them so beautifully.

  7. Hahaha, oloroso seco, one of my favorites too!

  8. I’m so glad I can now read these posts and go out and find something good to eat. 🙂

  9. catterel says:

    Results like this mean your time was indeed very well spent.

  10. EllaDee says:

    I like the way your mind works… Spain…. sherry, and not just the way you spend your time but that you value it. Oh, and that you share your wonderful images so we can delight too.

  11. Eha says:

    Garlic obviously leads to enjoyment for both of us . . . . garlic and anchovies: pure heaven 🙂 !

  12. Great photos. I love the richness of the pepper and oil contrasted with the dark timber 🙂

  13. Michelle says:

    Sun and sherry make everything better.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Love how your mind works. Mine would have gone from pasta, to Italy, to wine, obviously missing the fork that took you to Spain.

  15. Dude. I would eat the shit out of that!! Time well spent indeed!

  16. Wonderful Roger – hope you are resting after all your work. I was roasting peppers last night to serve today with some Morcilla from Burgos (probably not your thing, and definitely not Jenny’s!) but simple and delicious …now where’s that oloroso?!

  17. Gerlinde says:

    Your photography is stunning, a real pro at work and your recipe looks great. I love to cook but I’m a bloody beginner when it comes to taking pictures. Do you give workshops.

  18. Vasun says:

    As always, I enjoy reading your posts.

  19. I love sherry without question. I’ve got amontillado in my cellar for special guests. 😀

  20. I can’t wait until my main currency is time. I do spend it freely as much as I can, especially on vacation.

  21. Oloroso hits the spot every time!

  22. Beautiful, beautiful pictures. Art.

  23. Mad Dog says:

    Watch out for Viv Nicholson 😉

Leave a Reply

