Jam today…

comp_jam_today

I have met a lot of bankers in my time and most of the meetings were uncomfortable….for me. The main thrust of these meetings was to convince them of the imminent arrival of funds and, with that in mind, the importance of continuing their expensive support of my life. I became used to the knowing look on their faces as I pleaded my case and even more used to the sarcastic response of ” Oh, it’s jam tomorrow, is it Mr. Stowell”

Well this is just to say “Jam today..”

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, cake, Cream, creme fraiche, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Humour, Photography, photography course, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Jam today…

  1. Good God Roger, aren’t you ‘gilding the lilly’ here?! 🙂
    Say, do you know what happened to Dundee Marmalade in the ‘milk’ glass jars? I used to get it as a special treat for my Sunday afternoon tea. I loved the tart taste and the bits of orange rind still in it. Around here at least, it seems to have gone to sort of an orange jelly, in regular glass jars – and still costs an arm and a leg.

  2. jmcheney says:

    I still have one of those Keiller & Sons Ltd. jars right here by the old Mac, crammed with dusty pens, pencils & brushes. I loved their seville orange marmalade, & the lemon & lime curds too on biscuits best of all. Yum, yum, yum the bonus jar. Haven’t seen them in some years at The Fresh Market here in Asheville NC. Jam it to them, Roger; lay it on thick & sweet!

  3. This is almost Warholesque in it’s depiction…At least you got to talk to someone, face to face. These days, any request for funds is input by youngsters, still wet behind the ears, into some sort of computer rating system…no amount of batting eyelashes or flashing a bit of leg has any bearing on the outcome!!

  4. sabine says:

    quelle belle collage, et such a to-the-point writing!

  5. Not only can you have your jam, but you can eat it too!

    “Is it jam tomorrow?” This is a more apropos question to bankers as of late.

  6. How delicious does that jam look?

  7. Oh how I love the words you apply to all your wonderful foods.

  8. Chaya says:

    i just discovered your blog. wonderful pictures!

  9. I’m going to be in a jam tomorrow, as I will be home with piles and piles and piles of catchup to do. Maybe jam will go with that…….

  10. Apricot jam is my favorite of all jams to make, I spread it over tarts, I have it with goat cheese very yum, endless list how to enjoy it. Last summer I discovered to make apricot jam with pineapple, oh you should try that one.

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    I have a shelf-full of jams, Roger, and none look nearly as appealing as that in your photograph. None of it is apricot, though. Hmmm …

  12. Amanda says:

    LOL i like it. Both the story and the photos. Delicious.

  13. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve made me want a cream tea for lunch!

Leave a Reply

