Madeleine does modelling

Today I shall be mostly eating Madeleines. This is not on account of a drug induced feeding frenzy nor of a sudden gluttonous urge,  but on a failure of basic cooking sense. I blame LBC – for those beyond the shores of Perfidious Albion, LBC is a “talk in” radio show that makes having ‘flu a distinct pleasure in comparison. My hands were too busy weighing, whizzing and being burnt to turn off the repetitive moaning which was turning my mind to jelly and making the Madeleines stick in their moulds. In fact ranting presenters and omniscient taxi drivers were blameless. It was the omission of a smear of butter in each of the tiny shell shaped moulds that was causing the carnage. I now have to deal with the temptation presented by 32 warm Madeleines, of which only 8 have the credentials to be photographic models. As in real life, the ones unsuited to be models are full of warmth, character and charm…… and chocolate.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, baking, Childhood memories, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, photography course, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Madeleine does modelling

  1. sabine says:

    just close your eyes when eating the 24 not-so-pretty-ones! It´s the inner qualities that count….

  2. suej says:

    I agree…close your eyes and appreciate the delights within….

  3. lulu says:

    Even if the others aren’t suitable for photoing I bet there’s a good bite or two there!

  4. Lovely close up of the Madeleine models. 🙂

  5. 😀 boring perfect models…

  6. A day spent eating Madeleines is a wonderful day to me.

  7. Kind of a purist here, but I think I could stand some chocolate in my Madeleines. 😉

  8. I’ve never made Madeleines though I have been tempted to buy myself a Madeleines pan thingy. On the positive side of life I have a distinct aversion to talk radio of the LBC kind.

  9. Bahaha. Good luck my friend. Good luck…

  10. Vasun says:

    Ive made this exact mistake before. So frustrating yanking them out of their moulds but what a perfect excuse to eat them!

  11. EllaDee says:

    Your Madeleines model beautifully 🙂 And being chocolate filled I would be thinking of a short black to keep them company. Plain Madeleines are versatile, lovely with a cup of tea but I bake them usually at Christmas to participate in my deconstructed trifle 🙂

  12. Flora says:

    Beautiful looking models 🙂

  13. Karen says:

    Pieces of broken madeleines would make me happy…especially while they were warm from the oven. The models were picture perfect but cold in the end. 🙂

  14. LaVagabonde says:

    Nothing like warm madeleines fresh out of the oven. Now I need to prod my husband to make some. 🙂

Leave a Reply

