forget-me-nots…..

It doesn’t take much to make us humans gush or, indeed, to outpour. We gush or outpour at the drop of a hat or , hat dropping aside, whenever a taste, a face, a place, a smell or a moment unlocks a bitter or sweet memory, hitherto dormant….at this point we rejoin the lower echelons of the animal kingdom as eyes and mouths open wide and we screech, scream, and chatter; clap, caper and cavort; we are lost for words and revert to noise. Memory, whether the mind’s or the body’s, also has physical outpourings which, at their noblest, may be tears but more often will be the spread of vomit at the foot of a lamp post that marks the body’s opinion of what the mind remembered as a memorable evening. These forget-me-nots, unlike their botanical cousins which are restricted by season, blossom and share their scent at the most unlikely and private moments. Beetroot has a way of doing this as does asparagus; such an outpouring reminded me of this quirk of nature this very morning.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2017, asparagus, beetroot, Digital photography, Emotion, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Humour, Memory, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to forget-me-nots…..

  1. Sue says:

    Well, that was an outpouring and a half!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I’ll stick to asparagus – beetroot reminds me of a thundery lunchtime when I was about 6 🙂

  3. Eha says:

    Well, I prefer those dainty little flowers of my childhood days, but, on second thought, perhaps it isn’t bad to have a few of the others at the back of one’s mind as a learning experience 🙂 !

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.