…ham and jam, kippers and treacle..

brie_grape_jelly_039I was not myself this morning. Who I was is as yet unclear to me but, what is sure, is that the person in question had a pioneering palate. Pioneering, as an adjective, may seem romantic and exciting to some of you. To me, it resonates with foolhardiness. Why go where no man has gone before: no man must have had a fucking good reason for not going there in the first place. So it was with Coulommiers and grape jelly. The half awake, early morning, unreasoning pioneer, that resided in me this morning, thought that it would be a good idea to try a combination of those two violently opposing ingredients as a light collation: pioneers wear cats on their heads with the tail hanging down their back which tells you all you need to know about pioneers; avoid men with cats on their heads who recommend eating cheese and jam. My excuse, outside of temporary insanity, was guilt over a jar of grape jelly that was sitting in our fridge. I had been warned, by the kind person who gave me the grape jelly, that wrath of the same fruit would fall on my head, which would make a terrible mess of my cat hat, if that jar was found, unopened, in my fridge several months hence. Well, it’s opened.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Bad Habits, Breakfast, Cheese, Coulommiers, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Grape jelly, grapes, Humour, Illusion, Jam, photography course, Photography holiday, Toast, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to …ham and jam, kippers and treacle..

  1. Baked brie with berries. Manchego with membrillo. An now Coulommiers with grape jelly. As far as I’m concerned, you’ve just joined all the greats.

  2. Eha says:

    Thank you kind Sir: another lesson! [Of course I Googled πŸ™‚ ! So this is an early Brie and I hate to tell you that ‘the authorities’ of French cheeses do say it should be eaten with ‘soft berries’! Mmh: perhaps your natural instincts did just fine . . . πŸ˜‰ !

    • This little cheese is a Coulommiers, a type of Brie. I know there’s a huge tradition of fruit jellies and compotes with cheese. It just didn’t seem right at breakfast:)

      • Eha says:

        Better than peanut butter and jelly? [Oops, now I’ve done it πŸ™‚ !] Yes well remember this comes from a Viking heathen who relishes pickled herring and smoked eel on black bread at that time of the day . . . !

      • Funnily enough, I could eat that. Maybe a there’s a bit of Viking in me – I’ve felt a bit uncomfortable sitting down recently:)

  3. Lisaman says:

    I love Coulommiers and jam.. my home made orange marmelade with it is the best!!!

  4. Michelle says:

    “Why go where no man has gone before: no man must have had a fucking good reason for not going there in the first place.” I generally share the sentiment. But, honestly, Roger, I think you could make sandpaper with motor oil look appetizing.

  5. lulu says:

    You are in are form this AM! Good thing you opened the jelly cause I’d hate to think of it sitting on your head!

  6. Sounds like a perfectly normal breakfast to me. But then I am often found to be wearing a small dog about my person, so perhaps normality is not something I am familiar with πŸ˜‰

  7. Neither was I myself. Raccoon. Raccoon cap on the head Roger.

  8. There is nothing wrong with being a food pioneer……..unless you’re picking random things in the woods………..I tend to like relish/jam/compote with harder cheeses. The flavor of the cheese holds up to the condiment better.

  9. However pioneering, insane or wrong it was, it certainly looks beautiful and gave you an entertaining story to tell! And the jar is open and the cat is safe. Actually raccoon. But if you made your pioneer hat out of a cat, well that’s your business. πŸ˜‰

  10. Great photo…. You made me laugh with your “going where no man has gone before philosophy… But did you enjoy it, and when do we the the photo of you with the cat on your head? It reminded me of that great calendar of 101 things to do with a dead cat….

  11. You’ve boldly gone where no man has gone before (I think?) which is very brave for wee hours of the morning.. I’m glad you had a moment of not being yourself, but i do hope you’ll return. We’ve gotten quite fond of the Roger we all know and love:)

  12. Tandy says:

    Rather safe than……

  13. Pete Ramskill says:

    A tangy marmalade goes well with many a strong cheese. A discovery based on a similar experience of unopened jars and cheese in danger of going to waste – and a little to much alcohol bringing on the munchies…

  14. a pioneering palate… I like that term. Like it a lot.
    (My son had a pioneering palate yesterday. He ate hot chips and strawberry jam…although perhaps on a different level to you.)

  15. fransiweinstein says:

    I’ve been known to commit the same sin myself. It’s surprisingly good.

  16. Mad Dog says:

    I do remember a beautiful girl giving me a cheese and jam sandwich about 200 years ago, in a hall of residence on Exeter University campus. I have to confess that it was quite good at the time. I seem to have had catz in my head for the last three days, but I think that goes with Tiger Lillies, Soho Food Feasts and the Art Car boot Fair…
    Great picture Roger πŸ˜‰

  17. Coonskin caps were originally worn by Native Americans over here, but European pioneers started wearing them for hunting. Daniel Boone actually disliked the hats, but the legend endures.

    This looks delicious.

  18. One word: Yum. This sounds like a fine breakfast to me. Scrumptious photo.

  19. Karen says:

    I can just see you in the wee hours of the morning with a cat on your head…pondering your pioneering ways as you have your cheese and jam.

Leave a Reply

