Time for a glass of red….

Sipping my morning coffee in the sun kick starts my mental processes, gets the juices flowing, and pretty soon I’m thinking about food. I can’t imagine,  at least I try not to imagine, life without bread, cheese and wine. Each is produced by one form of fermentation or another, and each exists in a bewildering multiplicity of forms, from the most humble to the most extravagant. The combination of the three of them is sufficient to produce the most delicious feast, or a simple snack. Try baked brioche stuffed with Perigord truffles accompanied by a glass of Gigondas, or a simple “pan bagnat” with a glass of red vin du pays. Both are delicious; admittedly there has been the tiny addition of butter and truffles in one example, and tomatoes, garlic and olive oil in the other, but calorie counting is not part of my remit. My taste in wine has become much simpler. I used to collect wine, and, on occasion, I even got to drink some of it. Most stayed behind the firmly locked doors of bonded warehouses, or in the cellars of various merchants scattered around the English countryside. I used to pride myself on having a little knowledge. Now I drink to enjoy, not to swoon or share arcane thoughts on fine wines with similarly inclined adults. Don’t be fooled, I still love tasting delicious wines, but it isn’t that important to me any more. I’m much happier being in my neighbour’s “cave”, sitting on the old car seats that serve as arm chairs, with a glass of local red and a bowl of walnuts.

Extract from my book “Simply Fed” (there’s a preview link on the side of this page)

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Autumn, Baking, Brioche, Cheese, Cotes de Rhone, Digital photography, Drinks, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Fruit, Gigondas, grapes, Landscapes, Landscapes, Memory, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Vineyard, walnuts, Wine, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Time for a glass of red….

  1. One of my favorite meals is the cheese and bread board at our favorite local bar. Such a simple, satisfying meal.

  2. Tessa says:

    Contentment…. I love it. it’s a state of mind that many of us need to visit more often.

  3. I’m with you, Roger. Life is just too short to shut the simple pleasures of life away for posterity. That glass of local rd and the walnuts: they sound perfect.
    I adore that first picture. I’d love to just step into it.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    I so agree with you, Roger. I can thoroughly enjoy a good bottle of wine, a fine cognac, aged scotch, or a mellow port but they bring little pleasure locked away. If such a bottle enters my home, it will be enjoyed with friends and family without reservation. Life is too short and I’d rather have a drink with these people than have them use it to toast me when I’m gone.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    There is no life without bread, cheese and wine!

  6. Tandy says:

    Wine is best when enjoyed!

  7. Is that your view!?! It is gorgeous. One of our favourite meals is homemade bread with french and english cheeses and a great red wine.

  8. Andy Szpuk says:

    I like the sound of the cave. And cheese and red wine is a classic combination that never fails to lift the senses beyond the mundane moment.

  9. Eha says:

    Am attempting to analyse why you always make me smile [that is after being crabby because I cannot verbalize as well as you !] – perchance because you bring the really important things in life to a common denominator I can relate to [oops, grammar!] . . . sounds perfect to me too . . .:) !

  10. Truly, the simplest pleasures are the finest. I try to remember that but the world gets a bit crazy around here. Just reading your post gave me the sense of simplicity and calmness, so thank you.

  11. A day without wine is like a day without…well, I can´t even begin to imagine it!

  12. Beautiful images, both. La cave du voisin sounds awfully good to me.

  13. I have a friend who’s finally getting into wine, and now we’re going to do a wine tasting over Thanksgiving. Though, after your post, I’ll be enjoying a glass of red myself as I comment on other blogs!

  14. Absolutely gorgeous photos. coffee, wine, cheese, red wine – the makings of a well enjoyed life. a good life. like yours 🙂

  15. Karen says:

    My sentiments exactly. The great wines are wonderful but the simple ones can make me happy as well. Now if only I had a piece of the baked brioche stuffed with truffles.

  16. spree says:

    just a simple amen to everything you’ve said…and to your photos, fabulous!!

  17. As I’ve said before, how do you live in such a place. Oh well, life is tough. You’ll get on.

  18. Hi Roger, my apologies for not getting around to commenting on your posts more often. Be assured they all great delight, surprise, and impress me.
    When I am at work I can’t comment on them, and when I get home I too often just ‘veg out.’

    With best wishes – christian

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.