The flesh is weak

I have been suffering at the hands, nay claws, of a vicious micro organism after foolishly choosing to eat 1/2 lb of seasoned raw meat for my lunch on Thursday, which is a strange decision for a self declared closet vegetarian. I should have stayed in the closet – what am I saying “should have”: I never left the closet for about 6 hours after ingesting that lump of not long dead ruminant. I’d already spent a guilty half an hour with a good friend, and client on our food photography course, selecting animal body parts which she intended to take as gifts to her neighbours in return for overseeing her pets. Her selection of marrow bones and cote de boeuf for her highly carnivorous neighbours makes me fear for the pets safety. I can imagine one the pet sitters greeting her at the door, with the tiny point of a furry tail still protruding from his mouth, whilst trying to explain the absence of the aforesaid pets through a mouth full of cat. There is little doubt in my mind that the butcher episode had inflamed my dormant bloodlust, and I lay the blame squarely at his feet – or door – I can’t remember where blame is traditionally laid. Owing to this foolish weakness I felt like hell for a day and, as a result, cooked an absolutely awful dinner for our friend and her daughter on Friday night. The picture above shows how it should have been. As my school reports so often said ” Must try harder…”

Gnocchi with spinach, blue cheese and crea

Drop some gnocchi into boiling water and wait for them to rise to the surface. Remove them with a slotted spoon and place in an ovenproof bowl. Tuck in, around the gnocchi, plenty of ¬†previously cooked leaf spinach followed by crumbled blue cheese (bleu de Causses, bleu d’Auvergne are what I use) . Then pour plenty of single cream over the whole thing. Put the dish into a preheated oven of 190C and leave until browned – about 15mins. Eat immediately with lots of good bread and salad – and plenty of good Cotes de Rhone.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, France, pastry, Photography, Photography holiday, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The flesh is weak

  1. Nonsense! The dinner and hosts were, as always, perfect!

  2. ambrosiana says:

    I am so sorry to read that you got food poisoning eating steak tartare! And by the way, you read my mind! I was planning to make a gnocchi recipe in the following days!!!! I did not know you were a quasi-vegetarian. Well I guess I am too since I mostly eat vegetarian, but sometimes I like to red meat, fish or chicken.

  3. Your gnocchi looks fantastic!

  4. Hope you’re back to 100 percent. These look wonderful!

  5. joshuafagans says:

    Ugh, had a fairly recent bout myself. I feel for you.

  6. Karen says:

    Sorry to hear that you were I’ll. Even when food is absolutely fresh, there can be a problem sometimes.

Leave a Reply

