White magic

Last night I beat together two egg whites and 110gms of unrefined brown sugar. This morning I opened the oven to find a tray of miraculous meringues – both crisp and sticky. It’s not rocket science but it gets me every time. It was part of a fantastic morning, one of many since we have come to live in France. Lighting a fire while the rays of winter sun stream through the windows with a cup of coffee close to hand. Very quiet, except for the crackling of the igniting logs. The sun’s rays are so bright that I can’t see the flames at times. It’s going to be a peaceful day of roast chicken, and potatoes cooked in goose fat. Meringues and red fruit afterwards. Followed by book reading and hopefully some writing. Hoping that this finds you as it leaves me, in the pink.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Food and Photography, France, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White magic

  1. I will be there next Sunday morning. Please plan the same menu and the same atmosphere, especially the cracking fire. I will bring freshly squeezed orange juice and my inestimable gratitude.

    Your words and photo paint such a peaceful scene. In the US today, the stores are packed with football fans buying up all the chicken wings and beer in preparation for “dabig game” today. Thank you for the lovely brain retreat. ~ Olivia

  2. jamsandwich says:

    This is just a great post. It conjures up a beautiful image.

  3. A light post, I wish I was in France enjoying such a day.

  4. Pingback: A Centennial Celebration: Thank You! | Marina Chetner

Leave a Reply

