thoughts while contemplating a sausage sandwich…

sausage_sandwich_0038

Deeply, madly and truly enervated; that’s me today. I rarely find a use for the “e” word as, happily, I am, for the most part, happy. At the moment, however, I am often not which is why I’m so utterly enervated. Many years ago, in Covent Garden, it was my pleasure to take a drink or three with a celebrated Australian photographer who, being an alumnus of Geelong Grammar, spoke English. He enjoyed asking me the meaning of English words not because he did not know their meaning, because he always did, but in the hope that I did not. “Enervate” was such a word. To his delight, a delight that was as restrained as the gentle drops of extreme hysteria concomitant with the three very large and alarmingly dry Martinis that we had each already consumed, I had fallen, metaphorically at this early point in the proceedings, at the first hurdle.

“You dumb cunt” he joyfully cried, in pitch perfect received pronunciation, all vestiges of Australian submerged beneath a tsunami of delight at an Englishman’s failure to master his own tongue seasoned with subliminal memories of Geelong thrashings on those occasions of slippage into the vernacular “how could you think that enervated means to be excited, how could you?”

And to this day I have not been able to answer that question and because of it I’ve had to take extreme care in choosing the sort of Australian with whom I now break bread or glasses; preferably one who hasn’t been to school. Which brings me back to my current enervation. I’m just so fed up with being fed up with my fellow man’s delight in doing and believing in things to which I am totally opposed. For most of my previous life, let us say “before France” life, such things didn’t bother me as I was rarely conscious of current affairs because my time was taken up with vocabulary and drinking whilst trying to remember the vocabulary whilst drinking….and some photography. However, now that I have time to take notice, the radio, my constant cooking, writing and photography companion, does not cease to remind me of the ineptitude and mendacity of those who are responsible for our well being…….so I turn the radio off and concentrate on turning a plump Toulouse sausage which sizzles happily in a favourite frying pan. A fresh baguette waits in the wings ready to play an important role as a roll in this exciting production of a Sausage Sandwich which will run and run and run.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2017, Breakfast, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Sausages, Sunday, Sunday breakfast, Toulouse sausages, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to thoughts while contemplating a sausage sandwich…

  1. I confess I had to look the word up! I like it…and am sure a sausage sandwich would perk me up next time I become enervated 😀

    • I’m sure that many people are unsure of the meaning of “ennervated”….it just sounds exciting, nerves tingling….the exact opposite of its meaning. Have to go to the Latin root, a place we all love to visit, to make sense of it:)

  2. Nadia says:

    What a beautiful photograph!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Turning the radio off and making a sausage sandwich is the right thing to do! Aside, of course, for the Food Programme from New Orleans. Now I’m really hungry, but I do have leftover calf’s liver and St. John bread 😉

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    It’s a good thing that one learns something new most days. Today, it’s enervated that has elevated my education.
    Thank you.

  5. Michelle says:

    I went to Dooky Chase’s for the first time probably in the late ’70s. What a gem. Mad Dog is right about Tremé. The amount of jazz in it drove Steve crazy, but the series is overall very good and quite the love song to New Orleans (one of my favorites places in the world). I’m going from enervated to prostrate these days, punctuated by moments of outrage that do have the benefit of adding energy. That’s quite the sandwich. Love the photo.

  6. I’m with you on being enervated – luckily later on in the day I flipped, all of a sudden the glass was half full. What did it was the level of protests, people were actually in the streets all over the place, and Americans ‘don’t take to the streets!” So is is enormously important and significant.

  7. Eha says:

    Feel like a repost . . . but the single recipient [OK, make that a few toadies at this stage!] would be eating the sausage [no way would it be Toulouse!] and wondering what all the rest was about!!!! ‘Enervated’ – well we b. . . e r well all better be that In a f . . . .g hurry 🙂 ! The glass will be half-full or entirely so if we make it thus!!!!!

  8. Ah. I love a good sausage sandwich! Have not had one since I left NZ – I must rectify that when I get to London – i love English sausages.. c

    • Nowadays there are real sausages in England, as opposed to tubes of bread crumbs and bits and pieces! When you’re in London next you should visit a branch of The Ginger Pig where you can see the madness of sausage rolls for £10 ( bit of an exaggeration) and wonderful sausages for the price of a small car…..I do miss the wonderful Italian shops of Clerkenwell which do have wonderful sausages…and, of course, Brindisa’s chorizo….but, in truth, I now do have a taste for les saucisses Francaises..:)

  9. Sheer and utter torture – one of my dream but tied (or nearly) I can smell that sausage but alas a dream it has to remain; no sausage here!!!!,😭😭
    The photograph is beautiful.

    • They’re very rare in this household too. As Jenny is a vegetarian I find that I only rarely eat meat…my excuse for the sausages were in making Puy lentils to eat with mashed potatoes…I add a sausage to the lentils to punch up the flavour and so I bought two sausages…one for the lentils and one for a sarnie:)

  10. Francesca says:

    Enervate is one of my favourite words. I think your sausage looks marvellous. I wouldn’t enjoy spending much time with that pompous bore from Geelong Grammar playing one up manship word games to score points. I think I would rather listen to one of your more noxious radio station announcers and that is saying a lot!

Leave a Reply

