something very good and exceedingly sticky….

Some days ago, whilst lighting the wood burner in the afternoon, I turned on the television to pass the time while waiting for the fire to catch. Seeing the face of Simon Hopkinson was a relief, as I’m as keen on daytime television as I am on anything called “tuna bake”. He was making sticky toffee pudding which in my pudding world lay in one of the outer rings of the inferno, quite close to “TB”. And it came to pass that the words of the blessed Simon brought about a Pauline conversion and in no time I was pitting dates and the fire had gone out. Fuck the fire, I thought, and I was right. This recipe does not produce the big dull layer of brown sponge with a bit of stickiness…this recipe produces a near erotic slice of oozing sexiness and I left out the second sauce that he recommends you pour over the first one. Too little is seen of this man and the same can be said for Alistair Little.

sticky_toffee_0033
sticky_toffee_pudding003

There’s no question that Simon Hopkinson’s result looks darker than mine which is because I didn’t have molasses sugar and made it with a French sugar, sucre vergeoise, which is like a demerara…and also because he’s a wonderful chef who really knows what he’s doing which is different from a hungry photographer who likes cooking.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2016, Cookery Writers, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Recipes, Simon Hopkinson, sticky toffee pudding, sticky toffee pudding, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to something very good and exceedingly sticky….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’m not sure about Simon Hopkinson on TV, but he’s definitely an excellent chef 😉

    • Totally agree. I had no idea he even had a TV programme…it was pure chance and, as it turned out, good luck. I have to say that I do like his books like Roast Chicken and Other stories, as well as the Prawn Cocktail Years. There was a wonderful story, may well be apocryphal, back in the 80’s. Both Simon and Alistair Little were both in the middle of divorce or something like that which meant they shared a flat together for a while. Apparently someone on radio was asked where they would go for their perfect Xmas lunch….the choice being Simon and Alistair’s flat. Very good choice I would say..:)

  2. Oh now you’re talking….

  3. I agree with what you said re Alistair Little – I have some of his books. But, I am afraid, I will have to google Simon Hopkinson – not yet known to me. Pudding sound sinfully delicious 🙂

  4. Oh boy, I wouldn’t be able to stop at one piece.

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    Roger, I have a love hate relationship with sticky toffee pudding. I love it. But, I am usually raked with guilt when I am on the outside of one. Is it an age thing? I used to not give a toss about such considerations as my longevity. Now I seem to be getting more careful. Not good.

Leave a Reply

