a fear of stuffed tomatoes…

vine_tomatoes_box6848
A box of misshapen ripeness such as this is irresistible to me, particularly towards the end of summer when they sell for but a few Euros and,  beguiled by their allure, I buy not one box but several. That’s a lot of beguiling ripeness with which to contend. Conjured images of bubbling saucepans and rows of squeakily sparkling glass jars fade and transmogrify into a labour intensive nightmare as the gap between fantasy and home narrows with each turn of the car’s wheels. I dream of preserving tomatoes and I assiduously preserve those dreams but not the tomatoes. Last year’s olive preserving hopefully will serve as a lesson to me…..I preserved our olives as part of a film and not part of our diet which was a mistake. There now exists, in the dark recesses of our larder, a glass wall of preserved olives. There is not enough time or Martinis for me to do justice to such a horde and I shall not make the same mistake again …. neither with olives nor tomatoes. And there I shall leave it. There are as many paeans to tomatoes as there are olives in my cupboard but notwithstanding I shall offer but one more. This is more a paean of praise to Rachel Roddy, a food writer who I’ve recently discovered and whose writing I greatly admire and whose recipe in the Guardian for Baked Stuffed Tomatoes with Potatoes changed forever my view that a stuffed tomato was a wasted tomato. Read her words and take heed of all of the tiny details for therein lies the magic of this dish…

toms_stuffed_33

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2016, Baked Stuffed Tomatoes and Potatoes, Baking, Cookery Writers, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Mediterranean food, Parmesan, Photography, photography course, potatoes, Rachel Roddy, Recipes, tomatoes, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to a fear of stuffed tomatoes…

  1. That looks really good!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    In my experience the French swap all their preserves or give them as presents, though that’s no good if all your friends have made the same. You could look into a one off market stall or hand them out as a bonus to your students. Olives and tomatoes go very well together – start a pizzeria 😉
    Great photos, comme toujours!

  3. I’m sure you could find plenty of people willing to take those olives off your hand! I too find myself in a sort of nightmare when cooking down the bounty of tomatoes. Though this year it’s all going pear shaped so I fear I won’t find myself in the nightmare this year. Love this idea of stuffed tomatoes.

  4. Angeline M says:

    We are well into tomato season, and this is a most easy and delicious recipe to try. I love the combination of tomato and potato…perfection. Thanks!

  5. Michelle says:

    I’m not really a (raw) tomato lover, but that top pic may change my mind.

    • It’s only when the really good tomatoes appear that it becomes apparent that they are fruit….and that they have so much taste. After a winter of hard round tomatoes that are 90% water and seeeds, these beauties are a revelation:)

  6. Sally says:

    I worship at the altar of stuffed veg…

  7. margaret21 says:

    Rachel Roddy’s my food heroine. Glad you like her too.

  8. I’ll miss the lovely Spanish tomatoes next week when we head back to England so will just have to come back here and look nostalgically at your photos!

  9. Some people are resistant to cooking peak season fruit and veg but – especially when you have plenty! – it’s such a great way to coax out new depths of flavor. Love tomatoes whichever which way!

  10. Absolutely stunning photo!!

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    While down near Castillon, I preserved some cherries in a solution of cheap vodka, sugar and water. I have just arrived home in Ireland and the jars are now in the back of the cupboard, probably to grow in fear for me as your olives have done to you.

  12. Mary Frances says:

    omg the photography is absolutely beautiful the color of the tomatoes are the most beautiful. perfect framing, simple and elegant, I’m obsessed!

  13. Megan Earls says:

    Your pictures are so amazing! The crispness and life that flows through your images is truly inspiring.

Leave a Reply

