on a round trip…

Peach_bowl_LaCaillere_06_0013

The seemingly endless summers of my childhood have made a welcome return. Maybe not the very same ones, but there are moments when a particular combination of sensations takes me clearly back in time. I have found that the station signage on my round trip of life, as predicated by Shakespeare, has become clearer on the return trip. Sitting in cool shadows on a seething silent summer’s day reminds me of those careless too short days which passed without my noticing. Like a puff of dust in the distance as a visitor’s car descends below the horizon taking with it names and details but leaving aย taste, the flavour. Sherbet, warm,long defunct fizzy drinks; nothing was chilled, I don’t remember ice early on. I don’t remember cool early on and I somehow wish I had never got to hear of it. Ice brought pleasure. Cold drinks with ice cubes were memorable. Cool was a curse …unless you were Sting. I was too noisy on the outward leg of the journey to enter cool. But now I’m quiet and unconcerned. This summer’s day is not cool but, where I sit cutting open a ripe yellow dribbling peach, it is and I am.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2016, Art photography, Childhood memories, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Memory, peaches, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to on a round trip…

  1. jmcheney says:

    Long ago long hot summers in the Kentucky Bluegrass: “Shut the refrigerator door!” “Don’t forget to refill the ice tray.” “My Lord, that freezer needs defrosting again!” “A small lime coke with lots of ice please, Blanche.” “May I have another cherry popsickle?” “Let’s go to the picture show, it’s “Cool Inside”! {so said the marquee on Main Street.) “Turn the fan on high.” “Turn the fan off when you leave.” “Can we please, please go to the pool today?” “Last one is a Rotten Egg!” “Hold your Nose!”

    Merci beaucoup for the trip back home & the gorgeous photograph, today, Roger.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve reminded me of a small orange bike and having the stabalisers removed, that and the ice cream man ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Francesca says:

    Beautiful photo. A rather quiet and thoughtful post Roger.

  4. ardysez says:

    Beautiful photo. There are a few foods that stay in one’s sentient memory above all others. I think peaches are one such food, at least for me. We had luscious peaches in Ohio, and I have enjoyed equally stunning peaches in Italy. Many photos I forget I’ve taken, but one of our daughter eating an Italian peach stays in my mind. Enjoy one for me, please Roger.

  5. Eha says:

    Oh I SO prefer the return journey . . . just wish it did not have a finite ending. ‘Maturity’ has a wonderful lilt. A dear blogfriend, on the occasion of the Olympics, published a video of Anthony Quinn doing the sirtaki in ‘Zorba’ : as a twenty-something, seeing the film for the first time, I never understood what the scene really meant: now it was life joy recreated! [Oh, did not like ice then, do not now ๐Ÿ™‚ !]

  6. Lovely image Roger, it requires a glass of cool white

  7. Sue says:

    I love this photograph…the colours, the contrasting textures….and your thoughtful words had me recalling my own summers long past

  8. Sally says:

    Beautiful image – the peaches just glow. Enjoy yours in the garden for many, many more sections of the return journey Roger.

  9. Beautiful image indeed, cher Roger! and those peaches…….! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. mawarre says:

    Memories come drifting into my mind as I sit here on a late winter’s morning – of sand and prickling skin from too much sun, of watermelon and swimming and sizzling pavements and hot blue skies. Summer. THank you so much for your post and beautiful photograph. Makes me even more excited to be visiting France for the first time next April. margaret

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    I’m sitting in the shade, just outside Castillon, where the last battle of the 100 years war was fought, around the time you were not cool.
    I’m cool now.
    Perfect prose as ever Roger.

  12. Sigh! And that is the beauty of good photography.

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    Such beautiful photo, Roger! Perhaps they’re in contact but this year, I’ve enjoyed more luscious peaches than I have in the past several years. I’ll be sad to see their season end.

Leave a Reply

