..a rude awakening….

cockerel_ext_0005

When I was first awakened by the black cock it would be fair to say that I was not ready for it. I sleep deeply, maybe not the sleep of the just but, having never experienced that, in a sleep that is just as deep although it must be clear that I’m only guessing. However deep the sleep in fact was, the black cock penetrated those depths with ease….thick stone walls and double glazing were as butter to this cock and before he had crowed thrice I was already wishing he shut the fuck up and get in the pot with wine and vegetables and just be delicious instead of noisy.

coq_au_vin_0032Recipe from Stephane Reynaud’s “Ripailles”
coq au chambertin

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2016, Bistro, Chicken, Chicken, Cookery Writers, Cooking, coq au vin, Cuisine bourgeoise, Digital photography, Drinks, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Meat, Poultry, Recipes, Stephane Reynaud, Uncategorized, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to ..a rude awakening….

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Invite me round to supper and it’s the cock who’ll be sleeping with the just 😉

  2. Nadia says:

    Posted a great Coq au Vin recipe on my blog a few weeks ago. I just love this French classic.

  3. Alda Petitti says:

    In the Azores, the weather is rainy and chilly…just perfect for a Cog au Vin dinner. Thanks for the recipe.

  4. A rude awakening indeed. Last summer we suffered through two weeks of a cockerel going off and it turned out it didn’t even belong to the farm it was crowing from! Who puts up with that for two weeks knowing it’s not your bird?

  5. A coq in the pot is always better than a bird in the bush. …

  6. Francesca says:

    We have banned the buggers the chookhouse and now keep only quiet lady hens. We had a spare room near the chookpen, called the rooster room- I quite liked their early morning noise, reminding me of Bali and other parts of rural Asia, but I was alone in this fondness.
    That recipe has so much wonderful grog in it, I might just leave out the coq and drink the ingredients instead.

  7. ladyredspecs says:

    My local sleep penetrating cock is a Harley motorbike. Do you have a different recipe?

  8. Eha says:

    How big was the coq to require two bottles of wine for the preparation 😀 ? Or may I politely ask which of the two bottles was designated to the chef . . .?

  9. Very tasty. Need to see if I can get a rooster in Edinburgh.

  10. Ha, what a funny story and that rooster looks like he means business! I do think a cock crowing is better than an alarm clock any day of the week, but your stew recipe is just grand and a perfect way for you to get emotional revenge!

  11. Love this recipe – and a wonderful way to utilize this morning beast. I was woken up by roosters at 4am for two weeks in Hawaii. I wanted to make coq au vin daily 😉

Leave a Reply

