Claude’s plums

greengage_pastel2_0035

My love for Claude’s plums is a love which can indeed say its name and, should there be any doubt about that,  I shall be happy to shout it from the rooftops. I say this safe in the knowledge that I could shout anything that takes my fancy from our rooftop in the sure and certain knowledge that it would be unlikely to attract the attention of any sentient being with less  than four legs. The view taken by local upright bipeds is that when on a roof, shouting is the norm which is worth considering should shouting for help become a possibility as  it will  be recognised as no more than normal roof shouting and of no particular import. Best to stuff one of Claude’s finest in your gob and fall politely and noiselessly to your doom which cautionary tale clearly defines the downside of not speaking with a plum in your mouth. Plums are so often a disappointment; they flatter to deceive and red plums are at the apogee of this deception. How often have I bought a pile of ripe, red plums only to find, at the first hungry unwashed bite, that the hoped for nectar of  plum sweetness was replaced by a soft vegetal texture with sour notes. Engraved in my mind are the luscious memories of the moment of biting into a dribblingly sweet ripe Victoria plum or an intensely flavoured almond shaped deep purple damson but these memories live in too close a proximity to those legions of less happy moments when the too brown, too soft, near rotten plum is popped int0 the unwary mouth producing a near perfect test of the gag reflex. However, up to this point, I have not experienced this disillusionment with a Reine Claude, la bonne reine, or, if I have,  that memory or, heaven forbid, those memories have been thoroughly expunged from the recesses of my mind.  The recollection that I cherish is that of a neighbour paying me for some photography with a huge bowl of Reine Claudes and, as I recall, not a single one was a bad one. Certainly a memory to treasure which is the ideal purpose of any memory….. however untrue.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2016, Childhood memories, Digital photography, Excellence, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Humour, Memory, Photography, Reine Claude, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Claude’s plums

  1. Francesca says:

    Ah it’s plum season over there already? I have never eaten a Claude.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I do love to barter 🙂

  3. ardysez says:

    I’ve been looking forward to your next post and am not disappointed. I’ve always thought I didn’t like plums because they were sour, now I know I’ve been eating bad ones. Love the last line, especially.

  4. Nadia says:

    We planted some last year and I am hoping to pick my first crop this year!

  5. Eha says:

    Oh dear, multiple lessons learnt again, the main one probably being that an unripe looking bowl of plums perchance can tell one the wrong tale 🙂 ! Envious of you: would love to stand on my roof and call out whatever . . . hmmm, the consequences here would be dire . . .

  6. Alas we don’t get these in my area. Shame as I have the same trouble with plums.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    I now have a vision of you falling off your roof, unable to shout out your swan song as you swan dive to your demise. Not good.

  8. Reine claudes are really the best, I just can’t get them here in California

  9. catterel says:

    … or a Mirabelle …

  10. Lovely shot!
    You really captured the feeling of biting into a plum – the initial hope, the disappointment biting into stringy pulpy flesh and then the joy when you finally get that perfect one. Balanced sweetness and tannins from the skin with a touch of acidity to keep it from being cloying. I’ve never tried a Reine Claude – they sound beautiful!

  11. These are so interesting! As a prospective chef, I am constantly on the lookout to learn about new foods.

Leave a Reply

