Instagram….a new departure

danielle&denise_0118 copy

I’ve recently started putting pictures on Instagram and it occurred to me that some of you might be interested in seeing some of my pictures without the ranting that accompanies my pictures on this blog. A short time ago I made a foray into Facebook but quickly found that it didn’t agree with me or, in truth, that I didn’t agree with it. When I’m cooking, working, walking or writing there are moments when I see something that I want to share and, even though I have little faith in the phone as a camera, the images that I take with one have an instant appeal in the way that I used to enjoy with the now outdated ( or now very expensive ) Polaroid film. The real pleasure is seeing the images that are being produced  by my friends and acquaintances who work in the business of food and food photography as well as amazing photographers throughout the world. Here are a couple of images that I’ve posted recently and which may give you the taste to have a look at my stuff on Instagram.

Chickens at door3

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, French countryside and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Instagram….a new departure

  1. Nadia says:

    Is there a link?

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I’m about as thrilled by Instagram, as I am with FarceBook. I wouldn’t put any of my pictures online without a trip through Photoshop. I think it’s a bit like going to Boots or going to a professional lab.
    I do like these two pictures though and I’m quite partial to a bit of ranting 😉

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Roger,
    We love your ranting nearly as much as we love your photography. Whatever you do, don’t abandon WordPress for Instagram.
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day,
    Conor

  4. margaret21 says:

    Impressive! I haven’t broached the new, shiny world of Instagram yet. Could it be because I’m the last person in England without a smartphone?

  5. MELewis says:

    I like the rants. 😉

  6. Francesca says:

    I do love your rants so ,Nice pics for a phone. I have noticed that my daughter’s pics look great on the phone, but when sent to paste into a blog or something larger, they lose depth. I am also toying with Instagram: it might force me to keep the phone charged.

  7. Misky says:

    I suppose it’s time that I create an Instagram account….

  8. Eha says:

    Glad you are not deserting us on this medium . . . your incomparable rants oft make my day!! I actually bowed to pressure and got a smartphone some months ago only to find that here in the country I seem to be in what is known as a ‘dark spot’ – can’t raise even one bar to use the phone yet have a year’s contract 😦 ! But Mr Google sometimes seems to work:: well, Instagram may too 🙂 ? That is after my server finds out what is causing an almost country-wide total ‘outage’ which has lasted for days! Oh the excitement of ‘modern’ life . . .

    • We are full of “dark spots” here in the countryside but, oddly, our little hamlet has a remarkably good signal….and I only have a smartphone through one being gifted to me…I must say it’s been very useful…to my surprise. The world moves daily more and more into the “smart” realm …only just now I received an email from the French tax department stating that all returns must be done on line from next year….to think that in the late 70’s there was only one telephone in a 20km radius from our house.

      • Eha says:

        Sorry to be back – but your comment re taxes is interesting. My birth country of Estonia is quite small as you would know, but very IT-savy [SKYPE is an Estonian invention!] . . . now there taxes have been ‘done’ for years on line oft in ten minutes I am told [flat 20% and people usually don’t bother to try and cheat] as is practically all voting! Can’t surely be compulsory tho’ methinks – don’t think elderly peasant ladies would have either a computer or the knowledge . . .

  9. Great to hear and see you about Instagram. I am still a little hesitant to sign up with it. Mainly because of the worry of copyright, I wouldn’t like people steal my work. Any input on that?

  10. Funnily enough my neighbours are now equipped with computers and seem to do a lot on line…amazingly we can even do our supermarket shopping on line and have it delivered! A new peasants uprising..or an upraising of the peasants:)

    • Eha says:

      Am laughing! I have done ALL my supermarket shopping on line for over five years . . . a couple of times have ‘topped-up’ when in one of the surrounding townships but one always gets better value, more specials, fresher produce and far more choice thus! No extras to pay and it arrives on your kitchen bench at the exact hour convenient for you!!! No wasting time waltzing up-and-down long aisles!!! Also buy about 95% of all else whilst sitting behind the computer: think of the choice and availability . . . 😀 !!

      • And there it is….although these people here COULD do it, they would never dream of actually doing it! I don’t think that they really TRUST the concept. There’s a apple merchant who drives down from Brittany to the sell door to door in the local hamlets…they trust him and he comes in for a coffee, glass of wine, apero ( depending on the time of day) at each client’s house. They trust him:)

      • I managed to write quite a lot of gobbledygook in my reply….but I think you’ll get the gist:)

  11. That last shot just has all of the “flavor” of the French countryside that I love, Roger. Off to find you on IG!

  12. I love Instagram, I am a hopeless addict. I will find and follow you – I love your photos – great to see you are on board!

  13. Lovely to have you over on Instagram now too. Really like the action shots mid bake/cook! If you are not following him already I can recommend matt_inwood and his fabulous foodie feed. If his lunches don’t make you envious I don’t know what will!

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    Great shots, Roger,and welcome to Instagram. I’ve got an acct, as well as one on Facebook and Twitter. More than any other time, I use them when I’m abroad as an easy means of circulating photos to family and friends but beyond that, I’m at a loss. My day-to-day life is hardly the stuff one photographs.

  15. ardysez says:

    I must concurr with your feelings re Facebook. Instagram is my favourite social media forum, aside from blogs. Will look for you there!

  16. I was delighted to discover you had joined IG. Always wondered why you were not there! It’s the perfect fit … although I confess to double dipping because I don’t want to miss your words! (Totally agree about FB, would not be on it if I did not write novels. It’s a must for that!)

  17. Michelle says:

    Oh, how did I miss this? I can’t wait to see you on Instagram. I don’t care what anybody thinks. I adore it. And, like you, think of it as Polaroids (which I also loved), only better!

    • God, I spent some money on Polaroids….I used them not only in small format but also with my monorail 5″x 4″ and 10″x 8″ which were enormously expensive…the larger ones cost something like $25 a piece back in the 80’s and we’d use dozens and dozens on a still life shoot…a time when money flowed like honey:)

Leave a Reply

