Thinking of pussy…

lemon_loaf_cake_0004

Picture of a cake oozing lemon and sugar for those who don’t like cats but like cake…I haven’t got anything for the rest of you.

A quiet still hour, with Molly sitting on my lap, has given rise to a Professor Higgins moment. It has made me wonder why a person can’t be more like a cat. I should make it clear that I am not referring to the mice eating, shit hiding, tree climbing or furniture destruction capabilities, nor to the inconvenience of appearing nine times in the Dispatched section of The Times, Β but to the calm and the well being that their close presence can instill in us. Should one dislike cats, now is the time to look at the cake. Self gratification is the zeitgeist yet, in comparison with our feline counterparts, we humans have but scratched the surface of this mother lode of sensuality. It may well be that they are more easily satisfied or, conversely, that we humans are never satisfied and are not even sure where satisfaction lies which search is manifested by countlessΒ fingers tirelessly stroking, flicking and probing at screens, keyboards and other more sensitive regions in the hope of finding a nugget of this elusive commodity that will not turn to dust after a moment’s scrutiny which disappointment only leads those fingers and minds onward like determined yet purposeless ants.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2016, Bad Habits, cake, Digital photography, Emotion, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, friendship, Illusion, Photographic Prints, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Thinking of pussy…

  1. Nadia says:

    I like kitties and lemon cake:)

  2. Francesca says:

    You have excelled tonight Roger. Nice to wander off to sleep with the dregs of a wine on the bedside table and that last sentence swimming in my head.

  3. Misky says:

    I’d be quite content with that cake on my lap, and only slightly put-off if it purred.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Nice pussy… sorry, I mean cake! πŸ™‚

  5. Sally says:

    Cursed with a cat allergy. Comfort from small, furry, devoted dog in lap. And large slice of that cake.

  6. I would love to be cat, but I don’t think I could give up alcohol.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    I like cake. I have little time for cats and, if I am reading you right, I should not be seeking comfort reading this either. Damn!

  8. Love cats and cake….but especially your cake!

  9. Sue says:

    I’ll stick with the cake…. Might stick to it, too, by the looks of it

  10. Puss, puss, puss, puss! I am on a lemony streak too at the moment.. everything has lemon in it – You know I especially like chicken roasted with lemon and rosemary, maybe I will make that for dinner! c

  11. ardysez says:

    πŸ™€πŸ˜½ The cat or the cake? Lady or the Tiger? I’m hungry so I’ll go for the cake, luscious looking photo.

Leave a Reply

