…hints of jam,..cinnamon…and a sprinkling of ….sugar.

La_Chaume_D90_oct13_8300

Doughnut pickers in West France

The disappointingly dull explanation, when recounted to me in my childhood, of how a ship got into a bottle failed then, as now, to raise more than a bored ooh, or a stifled aah. Why one should choose to put, by necessity, a thoroughly pedestrian artifact into a purpose designed container which, though suitable for a ship in that it can contain water, is unquestionably at its apogee when filled with fine wine, is a good example of the devil being asleep when a pair of idle hands could have been doing something far more interesting than erecting a mast with a piece of cotton…although, on reflection, I can see that the devil’s suggestion might have been misunderstood. It would, however, be safe to say that the medical profession or, to be fair to that legion of doctors who do not shirk their turn at the bar, its government spokespeople, would be much happier if the majority of bottles were filled with shoes or ships or sealing wax rather than strong drink which is apparently proving to be the downfall, or the fall down, of our once great nation ( I use this phrase as it must be the most commonly used on radio talk shows – why I listen to them at all is yet more evidence of the devil not doing his work properly). These medical spokespeople have wished us a happy new year by letting us know that each glass of wine that we drink is equivalent, in calories, to eating a doughnut or, more colourfully, a bottle of wine would equate to three hamburgers. I am aware, from the evidence I glean from television and radio, that obesity is becoming more and more commonplace. My New Year good tidings to all of you, who read my ramblings, are that in this small corner of France, where wine is far cheaper and more available than either doughnuts or hamburgers, the sight of a fat arse is a rarity….so drink up and Happy New Year.

pate_en_croute2_0010

Truffled foie gras in pastry served with a small doughnut

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2016, Bad Habits, Burger, Digital photography, Drinks, Excess, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Health, Humour, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Wine, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to …hints of jam,..cinnamon…and a sprinkling of ….sugar.

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I must say that i prefer the doctors of yesteryear who all drank like fish.
    I don’t eat hamburgers or doughnuts – bring on the wine! 🙂

  2. Happy New Year to you, your truffled foie gras looks amazing and would be incomplete without a small glass of wine, may I suggest music for our listening pleasure rather than the news!

  3. Roger Goodacre says:

    That terrine looks quite delicious…one of my favourite hors d’oeuvres.

    A good if depressing picture given by the excellent Bee Wilson in today’s ST http://www.thesundaytimes.co.uk/sto/Magazine/the_dish/article1650307.ece of how British children are raised. It begins as follows:

    “What does he like to eat?” I asked the mother of one of my son’s friends when we arranged a playdate. “Oh, you know, normal kid food,” was her reply. This turned out to mean chicken nuggets, oven chips, plain pasta, ketchup. No vegetables.

    Over the past 50 years or so, the food our children eat has radically changed. The effects can be seen in the fact that nearly 37% of British 11- to 15-year-olds are now overweight or obese. Never mind five a day, doctors working with child obesity say it has become common in the past couple of decades for toddlers to eat no fruit and vegetables at all. Parents who grew up forced to eat bland nursery food such as rice pudding and soggy cabbage were not going to inflict such trauma on their own offspring.”

  4. Victoria says:

    Very timely – thank you! Was just wondering about giving up alcohol for a bit, having read a few articles (inevitable at this time of year) on the benefits, but thinking how the pleasure of a glass of wine surely outweighs the more puritanically-inspired benefits… So reading this has helped me to go with my instinct, and watch my refined sugar intake instead! And, like your previous correspondent, will continue to listen to the news less – my wellbeing has improved since I stopped watching the news on television! Happy New Year – I love your blog.

  5. Richard Tennant says:

    Thanks Rog, doughnut would ruin that really nice shot wouldn¹t it, and bloody hard to swallow too! Keep up the red, the white and the Rose in 2016.

    All the very best, and of course a Happy New Year,

    Rich

    On 3/1/16 14:47, “Food, Photography & France” wrote:

    > Food,Photography & France posted: ” The disappointingly dull explanation, when > recounted to me in my childhood, of how a ship got into a bottle failed then, > as now, to raise more than a bored ooh, or a stifled aah. Why one should > choose to put, by necessity, a thoroughly pedestrian arti” >

  6. Michelle says:

    I knew I could count on you to forgo all that tedious resolution stuff. Happy new year, Roger.

  7. margaret21 says:

    When we lived in France, my husband’s doctor told him to be sure to drink red wine every day for the sake of his health. Seems to be working. I follow the same prescription. Seems to be working. happy new year!

  8. Francesca says:

    I can see that the devil needs to visit you more often. I equate any talk back show as hell on earth.
    Yes indeed, no fat bums around this neck of the woods either. No hamburgers or doughnuts or processed food or nonsense sprouted by nutritionists, no ‘lite’ food nor ‘gluten free’ faddist products or paleo, no fake sugar, or coca cola ( except on really bad days when the devil provides a black aspro for those in need), no food made in America, no meusli bars or cardboard cereals tasting like the box they came in. Just vegetables, an occasional fish who is often named Roger, fruit, cheese, olive oil and a sea of wine.

  9. Effing A Rog. This skinny assed Australian could not have said it better!!!! 😁

  10. ardysez says:

    I’ve read a number of books and articles on the subject and most recent research points to alcohol as being ‘neutral’ in the fat metabolisation and storage process. So drink and enjoy!

  11. Oh I just love this post. Isn’t it just crazy? There is no way a glass of wine and a doughnut should even be mentioned in the same sentence! One day wine is good for you…the next day not…Obesity is a problem but perhaps it is just that some people need to just move a bit before drinking that doughnut! Love you blog. Happy New Years from Nashville, Tennessee.

  12. Eha says:

    Well, having earned my MB.BS a very long time ago and with a quarter century of still on-going learning of ‘nutrition’ under my belt, you have brought real New Year’s joy to this house with your comments 🙂 ! Love Francesca’s list also [methinks if I hear ‘paleo’ or ‘gluten-free’ just once more I’ll scream!] , and Mad, so many of my friends being doctors, I can assure you nought has changed re corks popping [or those darn screws being turned] . . . Glory Hallelujah and Happy New Year 😀 !!

  13. Best ever New Year’s resolution, cheer’s to that, have a healthy delicious New Year.

  14. WHY would they even say that? That is the dumbest thing I have ever heard – a bottle of wine being equal in calories to three hamburgers or doughnuts or whatever – that is a stupid comparison – I am Appalled – Flaberghasted (though i am not even sure how that is spelled) .. The world has gone mad! Quite mad!!.. c

  15. MELewis says:

    To categorize all alcohol consumption as equally harmful, without considering the relative merits of the grape, is as wrong as to base one’s diet on donuts and burgers. Thankfully we will never have to face that problem here in France. A very bonne année to you Roger. Keep opening those bottles!

  16. I shall endeavour to keep the spirit by keeping spirits. Happy new year to you and Jenny, and may the sauce be with you.

  17. Just when you think that you’ve heard it all before!!! 🙂

  18. Hear hear Mr Stowell – and cheers!

  19. ChgoJohn says:

    The old timers in my family always had a small glass of wine within reach, the wine, both red and white, having come from the same press in one of the basements. They lived long, happy lives and I daresay were more active in the twilight of their days than I am today. I better get a wine press for my basement.
    Wishing you and your loved ones, Roger, much happiness and good health in the new year.

    • It’s what I see here…very small 10cl glasses of Muscadet or a red from the Loire are always in evidence…not the huge glasses of wine that are served in English wine bars and pubs. My consumption has decreased enormously over the time that I have lived here but my enjoyment has increased at a parallel rate…happy new year, John:)

  20. Conor Bofin says:

    Excellent rant Roger. I have to agree with the sentiment entirely. There is more to most things we consume than just calories. Using the calorie scale as the only rule is completely misguided. Imagine if we were to measure the worth of that truffled foie gras against it’s calorie equivalent in burgers. Farce!
    Happy New Year,
    Conor

  21. They need to stop messing with my wine. It’s a grape, which is a fruit, which means it’s healthy. That is my story and I’m sticking to it.

  22. Happy New Year, Roger! Ah, the abundant and cheap good wine is definitely a health improvement in my book 🙂

  23. I keep staring at the photograph of the truffled foie gras and doughnut. Très beau!

Leave a Reply

