another cake moment….

Today I discovered, which is to say, saw for the first time, the food paintings of Wayne Thiebaud. I can’t imagine how I haven’t known about his work before as the his imagery, for me, is utterly captivating. It makes me feel like “I wish I’d said that…” The slide show is of a cupcake picture, that I did some time ago, together with some versions that I created today…a faint homage to an amazing painter.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The grey damp day outside is occulted by the wind blown shutter of my office window. Here, inside, everything is warmth and peace with a cat sleeping on the shelf next to me as I write. This is a good place to be.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Art photography, Baking, cup cake, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Photographic Prints, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to another cake moment….

  1. Misky says:

    The wind is whistling slightly off-key through my office window. B-flat-ish, I believe. Stay warm, Roger.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – you’ve got my brain going laterally and I’m thinking of the Alexander Calder mobiles at the Tate and a mobile I saw in the kitchen of an Australian youth hostel, 35 years ago, made of giant cockroaches!

  3. margaret21 says:

    Thanks for that. I hadn’t been introduced to him before…or to your cupcake moments. Two pleasures on a grey day!

  4. jmcheney says:

    I love his pie slices. I always post them on Pi Day—I’ll wish for some pie tomorrow when a big storm glows into the Blue Ridge. Maybe I’ll bestir myself. Thanks for Thiebaud’s Cupcakes. Checked out his Jelly Rolls (for Morton) in your link! Love them all.

  5. jmcheney says:

    Blows–maybe even glows–who knows?

  6. ardysez says:

    I remember him from Uni studies, and hasn’t his work held up well as still being contemporary? Or maybe I haven’t progressed with what is contemporary….

  7. ChgoJohn says:

    Chilled and damp here, too, Roger. I’ve no cat but the dog is snoring on the sofa behind me. Works for me.

  8. Michelle says:

    Isn’t his work delightful? As are your cupcakes.

  9. cats and writing with cupcakes – a mixed trio of happy.. c

  10. Sally says:

    The cupcakes with a slight Van Gogh feel are my favourite. Your comments section must be one of the most erudite in the food blogging sphere!

  11. We’re still awaiting winter in South Carolina. No sign of it yet.

  12. Interesting. We’re firmly into the weather where cosy is the way to be. A cuppa sounds good right about now.

  13. Conor Bofin says:

    As they say, one learns something new everyday. Mad Dog’s cockroach mobile might be a step too far.

  14. Quite captivating, mesmerizing even.

  15. bizzyella says:

    Thiebaud is a kind, gracious man, perhaps the only person I met during my brief time in Sacramento who fit that description. I was not one of his students but I met quite a few of them. They were a talented bunch and fiercely loyal to him. Thanks for the reminder of one of the more pleasant aspects of my life in California.

Leave a Reply

