I’ll be the judge of that…

 

salt_baie_rose_3_0015

Taste is everything in the world of food and drink. Outside of that realm it is nothing. Good taste does not predicate tasting good which is why the discernment between good or bad taste rests in the eyes of the beholder whilst the personal judgement used in discerning whether something is tasting good or bad resides in sensation, perception and experience……a précis of which would read something like this “People with bad taste are people whose opinion differs from mine and if you don’t like the taste of this you’re a tosser”. This carefully considered judgement came to me but a few minutes ago when our neighbour gave me a bunch of turnips. For the next few hours I shall be carefully leafing through that classic tome,  Baldrick’s “The Turnip and I” or is it “The Turnip and Eye”…that would definitely be an acquired taste.

turnips_0008

 

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Photography, turnip, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I’ll be the judge of that…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – IMHO Baldrick can keep his turnips 😉

  2. Sod how they taste, you certainly make them look beautiful…

  3. Michelle says:

    Thank god for the Internet, as I had no idea who Baldrick was! Those are some mighty fine looking turnips.

  4. ardysez says:

    Beautiful photos Roger. Of course, we must acknowledge he/she who raised the gorgeous turnips as well. I can recall as a child eating raw turnips straight from my grandfather’s garden. A little salt and pepper to season them… They seemed much milder than do the ones I am able to get in the grocery these days. Must have been that good Ohio soil!

  5. Misky says:

    For years I’ve made a hard turn away from these little orbs, and then I made a pot roasted chicken with cider and turnips, and possibly shallots … and cider. Did I mention the cider? The turnips went from a speed hump in the road into delicious treasures. I also rediscovered cider. Bonus.

  6. Eha says:

    Love turnips but am grinning at your ‘People with bad taste are people whose opinion differs from mine . . . ‘. I usually keep my friends ‘forever’ but have felt forced to turn my back on someone I met at age 18 as the proverbial chapter and verse as to my being wrong and her oh so right again forcefully came to the fore this week just for the above reason . . . and it has not hurt a bit . . . .

  7. lulu says:

    I’ve tried every trick to get the hubby to eat turnips. None work, and it sounds like the same might be true for you.

  8. I LOVE Turnips but there you are My taste is All in My Mouth! c

  9. All what I know about turnips, that they are great when you have a cold or cough, otherwise they are not really my friends, so isn’t a cold either

  10. I don’t know, does Baldrick have a cunning plan for those turnips?

Leave a Reply

