the damp patch…

 

langoustine_oleron_2007_0609

Days of wind and rain make the passing of those glorious summer days of wine and roses all the harder to bear. Each year my expectations of a gentle transition from sunshine to mellow fruitfulness, born of some atavistic memory, are dashed, only to be replaced by the damp patch in which I now find myself laying. Most damp patches, save for those of incontinence, have a silver lining and this one,  being the start of the season of fruits de mer, is no exception. Seafood is very sexy which means that you need time to enjoy it. Moules frites is a knee trembler and prawn cocktail is exactly that. They are the trailers, the Pearl & Dean, the crap before the big feature. On the other hand a glistening wet giant of a plateau des fruits de mer is a big sexy epic which demands knowledge, care, and time but, above all, it needs appetite; insatiable appetite with the urge to get tongue, fingers and probes into the tiniest. pinkest and sweetest spots. Getting intimate with fruits de mer can be dirty, but only if you do it properly…pace Woody Allen. The colours, shapes and textures scream obscene and I love them. I’m so excited and I just can’t hide it; I think I’m going to lose control and, do you know, I think I like it. Bienvenue, automne.

seafood_9200

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Art photography, Autumn, clams, coques, crab, Crayfish, Cuisine bourgeoise, Digital photography, Emotion, Excellence, Excess, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, langoustines, Mussels, oysters, Photographic Prints, Photography, prawns, scallops, sea urchins, seafood, Sex, Uncategorized, vongole, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to the damp patch…

  1. Misky says:

    Oh. Stick a bib on me, and sit me down.

    >

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That crayfish is playing with the food!

  3. Absolutely gorgeous photos!!!!!

  4. Sue says:

    Almost obscene, Roger…

  5. Francesca says:

    I love seafood too. Great photo Roger and enjoy your silver lining wet patch indeed. Th sprinkling of cultural references- Keats, Woody Allen and the Pointer sisters- were all going well but Pearl and Dean required Mr Google’s assistance.

  6. cheergerm says:

    Oh my, I feel, well how do I put this? A tad hot and bothered. And terribly hungry.

  7. Now I’m singing in my head the Pearl & Dean music…luckily I can banish it with thoughts of my perfect “last supper” – fruits de mer. Stunning photos, pass the napkins and the finger bowls…I’m ready.

  8. Oh MY – what ever that is it looks amazing! c

  9. lulu says:

    Moules are a favorite at our house and during the summer months I often collect my own at one or another of the islands we visit. I’m tasting a bit of French right now in Quebec City.

  10. It has been quite the damp patch in the South of France (especially last week) making me miss summer even more. But if fall means that plate of food, welcome!

  11. Karen says:

    Your photos are so enticing that I wouldn’t mind getting messy to enjoy a plate of your fruits de mer.

  12. Bahaha. The title was enough for me. Love your work Rog 🙂

Leave a Reply

