a last of the summer whine..

strawberry_tart_0007

I’m wearing socks again which is significant as I have not worn socks for seven years. Those years account for half of the time that we have lived here; that half being the warm and sunny half. The coming up and the going down of the socks are as clear a seasonal signal as is the arrival of the first cuckoo or the departure of the last…whatever bird leaves last. I remain full of wonder at the changing of the seasons but I do feel Mother Nature might spin the globe a little faster at this time of year as sock wearing time does seem to go on for an awfully long time and, in all honesty, the Australians don’t need all that sun and summer as most of the place is a desert and could do with a bit more rain. But, with M.Nature remaining deaf, as ever, to my suggestions of seasonal reorganisation, I am left clinging to these last fragile signs of summer. The origin of these strawberries appears to be France and, whatever help has been afforded them by their cultivators, they do taste very good; quite as good as any summer strawberry….which has surprised me…nearly to the point of wondering if I may have been a bit previous in the sock department.

strawberry_tart_0014

This very pretty tart was inspired by a YouTube showing a very clever and easy way of making crème pâtissière. I made some pâte sablée and baked a case…as I knew you were coming.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Baking, desserts, Excellence, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Humour, Memory, Photography, strawberries, summer, tart, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to a last of the summer whine..

  1. I’ve gone directly to boots. Very nice tart.

  2. MELewis says:

    Ah, the last of summer…(she says with a sigh.) Do take your socks off, that tart deserves to be devoured barefoot!

  3. Our strawberry plants are still producing so no socks here yet…

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    My 85 year old Mum got the last two strawberries off her plant, in her south Dublin garden, on Sunday last. Put the socks away.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Those French tarts get me all the time …one of them even invited me to lunch yesterday! We are having a lovely Indian summer in London, which makes up for the rain in August 😉

  6. Ah, socks: topical, topical. I have been feeling distinctly chilly without them this week. In our family we have to buy them as one would buy pints of milk; I think someone eats them when they feel peckish. But your post has hastened thoughts of a trip to Primark to stock up somewhat.
    Your tart looks, as always completely amazing.

  7. Beautiful, beautiful….and as for the sock debate, it’s still warm in Spain despite the tiled floors so we are keeping the sock drawer firmly closed for another week or so 😉

  8. Sally says:

    Creme pat aka custard. Swoon

  9. I despise socks. But love strawberry tarts year-round, if possible. It’s a conundrum.

  10. ChgoJohn says:

    I’m with you, Roger — kinda. I’m one of the last folks to put away the shorts in favor of long pants. I get some stares by the end of October but I refuse to give in. What’s a little chill when you’re making a point to the weather gods? Fantastic tart, by the way. It’s amazing what one can find on YouTube. It isn’t all cat videos anymore.

  11. ardysez says:

    We would so happily exchange some heat and dry for your cool and rain… If only M. Nature would listen. But thanks for trying.

Leave a Reply

