the 3 R’s..

white_on_white2_0016

Resolve, recant, regret….and the greatest of these three is regret…. but only until the second mouthful if the cake is good enough. We of the human race are generally rubbish (the forgotten R) at keeping our promises to which a quick glance at divorce statistics or any political manifesto will bear testimony. I mention this failing as I regularly resolve not to make another cake, or other sweet toothsomeness, and, with the same tiresome regularity, like a three legged nag, fall at the very first fence or, failing a good fence over which to fall, at the very first sign of a very good recipe. Through monastic self mortification and towering will power I have managed to remove regret from my gamut of emotions unless the cake is crap which, trust me, this cake is not. This cake is rich, round and rewarding….which is as good a template for life as I can imagine.

three_apple_cake_crop_0015

The recipe is adapted from one of Patricia Wells’ that is to be found in her wonderful “Provence Cookbook” Her chosen title of “Three Pear Cake”  is not germane to my humble version which will be known as “One Apple Cake”.
Ingredients:
60gms all purpose flour
112gms sugar
1tbsp Calvados
12gms baking powder
1tbsp vegetable oil
75gms plain yoghourt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
grated zest of a lemon
2 large eggs lightly beaten
4 apples peeled,cored and cut lengthwise into 16ths

Topping ingredients:
112gms sugar
1 egg lightly beaten
1tbsp Calvados
grated zest of a lemon

Butter and flour a 9″ springform pan
Heat the oven 210C

1.Combine flour, sugar and baking powder in a large bowl and stir to blend. Add vanilla, eggs, oil, Calvados, yoghourt and lemon zest and stir until well combined. Add the apples
and stir to coat them thoroughly with the batter mix.
2.Put the mixture into the prepared cake tin and place it in the oven. Bake until fairly firm and golden for about 40mins.
3.While the cake is cooking, in a small bowl prepare the mixture for the topping by combining sugar, egg, Calvados and lemon zest. Set aside.
4.Once the cake is firm to the touch and golden, pour the topping mixture over it . Return the cake to the oven and cook for a further 10mins. At this point cooks will use their own judgement as to the cake’s readiness by testing firmness to touch, using a skewer, etc.
5.Place on a rack to cool. After about 15 minutes, run a knife around the inside edge of the tin to free the cake. Remove and leave the cake on the cake tin’s base where it will be ready for serving at room temperature in wedges.

three_apple_cake_crop_0017

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, apples, Baking, cake, Calvados, Cookery Writers, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, Drinks, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Humour, One Apple Cake, Patricia Wells, Photography, Recipes, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to the 3 R’s..

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I bet you resolved to eat it quickly too 😉

  2. jmcheney says:

    Hey! Here is one for your cake file from the very humorous British Photographer of France, Roger Stowell. I don’t know if you subscribe to his blog, but he is always drole & his pix & food are sumptuous. Bink & studied up last night on a bunch of stuff. He taught me about the Lumix, & since it didn’t have a card in it, he took the card out of my Nikon & put it in & said he had a “bigger” one I could have. It slips into a slot on the computer for download, so no cable needed. Melissa’s has two batteries, but not a European “power adapter”. He dug around in his traveling trunk (his car) & found a plug in the power thingie for my ipod like the one I had looked at for $30. Said he forgot he had it as he never used it. So now all I’m missing is an Italian adapter- thought I’d check ebay. And— we studied TMobile (it’s around here he said) & Consumer Cellular. TMobile is according to their map here in Asheville & also at Newark airport. I should either get a phone which accepts a TMobile Sim card, or the CC phone for $35 & one of their cheapest plans, 10 or $15 a month for 250 mins. He clarified a lot for me & still seem to have it in my mind for now. Meanwhile one of the dreaded smoke alarms is going off somewhere in the house–haven’t found it yet–& I’ll have to get him back over here to change it. Sigh……A piece of french 3 pear or one apple cake would taste “right good” right now [in Kentuckian]. Love, J.

  3. Wait, why would you resolve not to bake another cake? Why punish yourself like that! This looks divine.

  4. ardysez says:

    That is my kind of cake. No regrets. That word does not live in my house. But why not ‘4 apple cake’?

  5. Oooh. Nice apple cake recipe and just in time for Rosh Hashanah.

  6. Rrrrrrrrrrrrico (or delicious, as they say in Spain)!

  7. Perfectly browned and photographed. Love the shot of the apple too. 🙂

  8. Francesca says:

    An excellent cake that will end p in my file too.

  9. Eha says:

    Since I am the boring spoilsport who has not made a cake, pie or tart in some thirty years methinks I shall put on some of my favourite Edith Piaf vinyl whilst I work . . . that always works for all kinds of problems . . . je ne regrette rien . . . true . . .

  10. catterel says:

    When I have managed to lose the next 5 kg, I’ve promised myself some of this. Nothing like incentive!

  11. Andreas says:

    I’m salivating at the thought of this cake!! I have a couple of Patricia Wells’s cookbooks and they are all wonderful! Will have to add this one to my collection too…

Leave a Reply

