one can never be too thin or too chocolatey….

 

melting_choc_0002Cooking with chocolate demands judgement and judgement demands evidence. My lips were smeared with compelling evidence as I marveled at the simplicity of this glossy tart. The first cut had no need to be the deepest as no tart before had adhered with such zealous commitment to Wallis Simpson’s maxim. This tart is as rich and as thin as a tart can be; yet shuns  the mask of cosmetic good looks, unlike many similar tarts, whilst retaining that essential, yet elusive, quality of intensely good taste. The first mouthful had me wondering how there was no Queen Wallis…maybe Edward was unwilling to share.

ripaille_choc_tart_0062

 

This recipe is a bybrid from the pages of Stephane Reynaud’s “Ripaille” and Patricia Wells'”Bistro Cooking”. As with many enjoyable moments, there is no exact formula. I would tell you to make the shortest, sweetest pastry; chill it for a good hour or two and then lay it out on a flat oven tray and sprinkle with crushed hazelnuts. Roll up the edge, prick the base and cook for about 25 minutes in a hot oven (200C). Meanwhile melt good dark chocolate, butter and cream in a bowl over hot water. Pour this mixture into the cooked pastry case and let it cool. Whisky or whatever can be added to the chocolate although I didn’t as I like to keep as far away from whisky as possible….most people who know me would agree with this caveat.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Baking, Chocolate, Cookery Writers, Cooking, Cream, desserts, Digital photography, Eggs, Excellence, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Hazelnuts, Humour, Nuts, Patricia Wells, Photography, Stephane Reynaud, tart, Thin chocolate tart, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to one can never be too thin or too chocolatey….

  1. cheergerm says:

    Lord, all my dislike of a too thick crust and over the top thick filling has been solved in one thin and chocolatey swoop. Mayhaps Wallis was half right.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I’m not a great fan of pudding, but there are a few I like and I might be tempted by a thin slice of your chocolate tart… though i suspect it’s already gone 😉

  3. Sue says:

    Looks delish……

  4. Dale says:

    This is not good…. not good at all! 😉
    I will just have to try this, dammit!

  5. Francesca says:

    There seems to be a story behind your whisky exclusion. Does it apply to brandy and cognac as well? A little orangey spirit also? Sadly I can no longer eat chocolate but do lust after it. The rich biscuit base looks delectable too.

  6. Eha says:

    Feel I have to disagree with you and the lady who never did get to wear a crown: one can most certainly be too thin and [hate to be a spoilsport 😀 !!] at the same time having too chocolatey tastes. Unless these concern that 70% and above stuff I personally actually do like!

    Off topic: Received my copy of ‘The Debt to Pleasure’ y’day: it too is sitting on my bedside table, but I do hope for less than the year it spent on yours! I hope most of your readers do realize how cheap it is to augment your library with ‘pre-loved’ volumes : mine came from Ireland, cost one cent, had a postage of around six dollars and looks brand-new!! Thanks for the tip, Roger . . .

  7. the title of this post made me laugh…i don’t even like chocolate but I think you have me on this one

  8. Michelle says:

    Perfect! Chocolate tarts are usually just too much. You’ve fixed that.

  9. Oh dear Roger, please, please , don’t you ever bother us again , with a post like this one !!!! What did you think when posting this? I am drooling for the rest of my wanting to loose weight life. LOL . Love it!!

  10. Yes, those two somewhat mutually exclusive things that you manage to combine here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

