the best legs in Lyon….

cote_rotie2_057

The streets of Vieux Lyon take on even more charm when seen through the legs of an unusually good Côte Rôtie. Its goodness is guaranteed as it has been selected and poured by Georges dos Santos, a man who is regarded internationally as one of the finest cavistes in the world and a man in whose miraculous cave, a cave spared the abstemious temperance of Aladdin’s,  I was happily standing, glass in hand, one evening last July. The occasion was called “work” which may well be the reason why food photographers proliferate at a rate akin to that of  bloated lips and protruding buttocks. If food and wine be the music of photography, play on, give me excess of it. And so it was….Georges played on, as is his wont, and I had excess of it.

wine_glass_lab_054

Georges is possessed of that nature which is in direct opposition to sound business sense which, to my mind, is invaluable to lovers of pleasure: invaluable, not as an asset but as a prerequisite. An inability to separate pleasure from work makes Jack a poor but happy boy. As I stood with Georges on the threshold of one of the caves behind Antic Wine, his celebrated shop, which was filled with thousands of bottles of grands crus he told me of the greatest fear that he had for his business ….himself: and he was smiling as he said this, not at the irony, but because the idea filled him with delight.

george_dos_santos_025

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Art photography, Digital photography, Drinks, Excellence, Excess, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, grapes, Humour, lifestyle, Photographic Prints, Photography, Uncategorized, Wine, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to the best legs in Lyon….

  1. Sally says:

    Beautiful pics

  2. “Look at the legs on that!” is my favorite thing to say to my father-in-law at wine tastings. No matter how many times I do this, he always looks slightly disappointed when I raise my glass. As always, great photos. And your caviste makes me want to take a trip to Lyon.

  3. Sue says:

    And he’s sitting with a huge smile and his arm on a box of Drouhin…….one of the finest!

  4. MELewis says:

    Ah, the wonders of Côte Rôtie…it’s a miracle your photos aren’t all blurry. And speaking of legs, I could kick myself for living in Lyon for so many years without venturing into that shop. Next trip!

  5. Misky says:

    That first photo almost wafts about an aroma. Gorgeous.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Those are my kind of legs 😉

  7. Beautiful photos and he sounds very much like someone I’d enjoy sharing a few glasses of wine with!

  8. The new boy who is coming to work on the farm in a few weeks has an apartment in Lyon(or his parents do) . But he is too young to drink.These images are beautiful esp the cluttered cubby holes in the background.. c

  9. margaret21 says:

    We’ve got to get to Lyon. Not quite sure how we seem to go on managing to avoid it…..

  10. catterel says:

    Santé -in every blissful sense of the word!

  11. platedujour says:

    I’m going back to Lyon in 3 weeks- can’t wait!! I hope you’re well xx

  12. Francesca says:

    Nice work if you can get it. Might come back as a Caviste in my next life.

  13. ardysez says:

    Epitomises a quotation I’ve just read by Mary Oliver: “Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” Lovely photos and thoughtful prose Roger.

  14. What wonderful photographs – I can feel the atmosphere and almost taste the wine 🙂

  15. Some people just know how to live. Simple as that.

  16. Ditto the comment from Ardysez. “Lovely photos and thoughtful prose Roger.” Always.

Leave a Reply

