never listen to Harry S.Truman..

summer_ingredients_0011

The weather here has been very hot indeed and so, today, when finding it too hot , I followed  Harry S. Truman’s maxim and got out of the kitchen. At that moment, it occurred to me how wonderful it would be to have a summer kitchen. A very short time later it occurred to me that the idea was infinitely preferable to the fact. For a simple man the act of conception is too diverting  to allow for thoughts of consequence but, clearly I had not had enough to drink,  as I quickly saw the flaws in the dream. The structure, however rudimentary, would take up a large part of our very small garden and, being purpose built, would be unsuitable for anything but cooking so would stand empty for most of the year save for Molly and his prey. Much as Molly enjoys a roast chicken, I don’t think he’s up to cooking his own yet.  However, whilst the dream held sway, I got as far as carrying, to the proposed site, a selection of ingredients that I planned to use today and tomorrow. I photographed them and carried them back into the kitchen where it was very much cooler than I remembered.

 

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Cooking, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to never listen to Harry S.Truman..

  1. Mad Dog says:

    My friend in Barcelona has a plumbed in, outdoor sink on his roof, next to the barbecue and a small drinks fridge in the roof cupboard. When he runs out of coal there’s a little electric griddle that can be plugged in to the socket in the cupboard and used outside. It’s bloody marvelous 😉

  2. Lots of folk have them in Spain – I just use my bbq in the shade and carry my wine around the garden with me!

  3. kstienemeier says:

    benit soit la contenance. cin-cin!

  4. All that carrying to and fro can make a fella hot you know.. c

  5. ardysez says:

    Had a good chuckle over this one, so true, so true. We do, however, enjoy our outside grill especially in the summer to cook fish and steaks and even vegetables. It doesn’t take up much space and does keep the excess heat out of the house. And last night, in the dead of winter, the fillet roast my husband cooked tasted of summer, which was also very nice.

  6. Misky says:

    Look at that gorgeous artichoke. Lovely.

    >

  7. Vicki says:

    In the heat of the kitchen in summer I always found it helpful to wear only a Tshirt & knickers with a floor fan blowing on my lower half while labouring over the stove/oven (I assume you’ve already tried this?).

  8. Although it may be a small space it is incredibly charming. What a gorgeous photograph.

  9. fromyou2me says:

    My apologies Roger – ere I sign off and get back to bed to recuperate . . . just to say I did put a comment in about 5-6 hours ago . . it came up as normal and has since disappeared . . .I just wondered whether you knew about such anomalies . . . love Eha

    • I’m never surprised by the vagaries of the internet and WordPress…thanks any way. Hope the tour is going better than England v Australia at the Oval…they (Oz) have us on the ropes:)

      • Eha says:

        [laughing] And then the wrong name was printed!! Am not into rugby [oops: hope I am right?] but my apologies if the Aussies have trounced you people: home ground and all that you know 🙂 ! The Tour magnificent in every way: especially geographically – last night actually in the Tarn Gorges in the Massif Central: what glorious beauty so well filmed by the French TV . . .

      • No, wrong…it’s cricket. The Aussies rugby guys were playing S.Africa. I know the Tarn gorge well…it is fabulouas.

      • Eha says:

        OK! OK! Soccer; the real footie!! Did not know we were that good! Hometown advantage, Roger!! This is Australia: half the guys who are groundsmen etc in this gated community actually drove down the 800 + kms to Melbourne on Friday!! Oh boy, are they going to come to work [or not!] with sore heads tomorrow morning!!

      • Wrong,,,I hate soccer with a passion…but I do like rugby and we’ll be seeing the Aussies in London this October in the World Cup:)

    • Eha says:

      Triple check!! [don’t like mistakes, tho’ it is not important to me or you in this case 🙂 !] Melbourne, Saturday 18, soccer, England 1: Australia 3 . . . . and, if I have to have a code, this is it ’cause it is the only kind played in my birth country!! Must have been kind’of important ’cause spectators came together from all up and down the E Coast 🙂 !

  10. Sue says:

    Love this beautiful composition…..has me wanting to run out into the garden, fire up the camping stove and start cooking al fresco

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    Roger,
    I am sweltering in the shade, a couple of hundred k south of you. It is far cooler in the house. My solution is to go into the house, cool down, get another beer and go back outside. Repeat until comatose.

  12. What a beautiful scene, I love this picture!

  13. I would love an outdoor kitchen if we didn’t have to contend with the blasted humidity. The temps are cooler than France at the moment (just) but I am wishing for the 100F/40C we had because there wasn’t any humidity! And there is better wine there. 🙂

  14. M. Parret has an outdoor kitchen with a small dining room that I covet. Lovely looking artichoke.

  15. Martina says:

    Lovely picture! 🙂

Leave a Reply

