Sunlessday……

apricots_bowl_grey_0028

Long summer days with rain pass slowly with the dullness of a nagging pain. Sixteen hours of twilight.The kitchen is unusually sombre. A bowl of ripe apricots is today’s sun.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, apricots, Art photography, Digital photography, Fruit, Photography, Sunday, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Sunlessday……

  1. The UK is equally dreary and rainy. Your beautiful photo has brightened my day too!

  2. Gorgeous colors Roger!!! Our weather with its relentless sun, heat, and humidity makes me not want to venture out. My wife and I got a 12 mile bike ride in earlier this morning, but with the temperature hovering around 32.7 C, I am staying inside the rest of the day! 🙂

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Yes definitely those colours here in London, which is a shame for a weekend of the Soho Food Feast and Art Car Boot Fair. However, in spite of threatened drizzle, the food and people shone yesterday and I worked at the French House Food Feast bar today (voluntarily for the charity) and everyone was so happy (even the very drunk). That kind of thing does put some sunshine in my heart 😉

  4. Francesca says:

    Lovely thought Roger- rain in summer is a joy,the glowing apricots a reminder.

  5. Eha says:

    Well ‘the dullness of nagging pain’ surely brought forth one of your loveliest, moodiest, most ‘atmospheric’ photos in a long time . . .

  6. Vicki says:

    Just love low light photography.
    As Eha says…….moody and atmospheric.

  7. ardysez says:

    When I grow up I want to be able to take a photo as beautiful as this one. Having grey days here too, but no apricots to photograph!! Really lovely, Roger.

  8. Hope the nagging pain isn’t too unbearable! The sunny apricots suit me fine on a rainy summer day, which I always enjoy.

  9. your image has a painterly mood in itself, low light has much beauty within it.

  10. Lovely shot. Hope the sun reappears soon!

  11. Beautiful – I could amost smell those apricots…

  12. fransiweinstein says:

    It’s been doing nothing but rain in Canada (Toronto) as well. Apricots definitely help chase the dreary weather away. And so did the deliciously sweet and juicy white peaches I gorged myself on all weekend.

  13. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely. I can’t wait to get over there for the apricots and peaches. Nothing like them here.

  14. Ooh that is a dark day. I’d be having a lot of comfort food and a good book. We’re are actually having a rainy day today which is wonderful. We need a few more!

  15. I love the moody lighting. It does make those apricots shine deeper and brighter.

  16. Michelle says:

    And what a fine sun.

  17. Only you could make a gray day look so beautiful. Gorgeous photo, Roger.

Leave a Reply

