Effortlessly beautiful…

poireaux_vin_rouge3_0002

Effortfully is a word that I have only recently encountered and I can’t think why that should be. On reading it, in a novel, the word surprised and charmed me and I thought that it might be the invention of the author. A moment’s research denied him this acclaim whilst confirming my own lack of vocabulary. The word attracted me because its antonym is so often used to describe things that, in truth, require a great deal of effort. To be effortlessly falling through the air is not surprising but the suggestion that someone looks effortlessly beautiful would be to discard the effortful work of hairdressers, personal trainers and the legion of professional beautifiers that bring this effortless state into being. On the other hand, these leeks managed it by having their outer leaves removed and lying in a pan of oil and wine. Very like Cleopatra in a bath of asses’ milk but without the bobbed hair.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Art photography, Cooking, Cuisine bourgeoise, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, leeks, Leeks in red wine, Photographic Prints, Photography, photography course, Uncategorized, Vegetables, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Effortlessly beautiful…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds just like your effortless prose 😉

  2. I don’t know which I enjoy more, your effortlessly beautiful photos, or the way that you string together words, in an apparently effortless manner.

  3. Thank you! I haven not come across this word either and yet it is very appropriate for much of what we do. Maybe because it is rather a mouthful to say out loud. c

  4. suej says:

    Is this an effort fully effortless play on the part of those leeks?

  5. Life is far from effortless for me these days. But yay. I’m sending a prize book to France. Loubille. About an hour-and-a-half from you!

  6. Eha says:

    ‘Effortfully’ . . . well, I have just learned that one from you! ‘Effortlessly’ talking of beauty . . don’t know I agree: methinks true beauty of face or mind is usually effortless . . . and we oft pass it without noticing . . .

  7. Lack of vocab is something that crosses my mind often when reading you posts, Rog… Mostly in reference to myself though 😜

  8. Sally says:

    You make food photography look effortlessly beautiful.

  9. Effortfully – thank you for the word – seems more honest. Effortlessness is often a bit of a ruse:)

Leave a Reply

