Cut glass ….

 

rosette_and_glass3_0010

There is a very great difference between good and bad charcuterie, which is why I try to only buy the first kind. This difference persists in the quality of pleasure enjoyed between thick, clumsy slices and those that are fine and delicate, the latter of these two varieties being my ideal. Producing the fine and delicate slices that I so enjoy, and not having a slicing machine to call my own, entails a steady hand and a particularly sharp knife. Was it not for the lack of charcuterie in his musings, it appears to me that Omar Khayyam may well have come from Lyon. Aside from thou’s absence, Omar’s choice of bread and a jug of wine is very Lyonnais and very me: unless I’m using a very sharp knife. When cooking, I have found that a glass of wine often finds its way into my hand and, in consequence, I have equated size of glass with frequency of event, the point of that sharp knife finds its way as regularly into the flesh of my hands as it does into the seasoned, marbled beauty of the rosette saucisson whose flesh I am paring into translucent slivers. Slices of pinky and thumb might have added a frisson of daring to one of Mrs. Sweeney Todd’s canapés but I do not have her digital reserves in my freezer. Whilst recently looking through my very limited prop cupboard, I came across the ideal sized glass for use in these operations, which affords me the pleasure of good wine as I slice without the blood letting.

small_glass_0023

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2015, Art photography, Cooking, Digital photography, Drinks, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Photography, Sausages, Uncategorized, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Cut glass ….

  1. Angeline M says:

    A glass of wine always finds its way into my hands as I cook…or even as my husband cooks; it’s the only way to enjoy the process, and is especially helpful to ease the pain of occasional tender pieces of digit being added to the ragu. Your glass looks awfully small.

  2. Is there a way to cook without wine? I don’t think I’ve ever done it.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – surely the Dr. orders a glass of wine to steady the hand. I bet the saucisson doesn’t last long 😉

  4. ardysez says:

    Couldn’t agree more about the sharp knife and translucent slivers of charcuterie, any thicker and it seems to miss the point of the taste and texture. And yes, definitely yes to the wine as well. Lovely writing and photography as always.

  5. Francesca says:

    An ode to both, with a touch of gore in between.

  6. Looks and sounds wonderful.

  7. Roger, I adore a good salami. Hard to come by where I live, but I pick them up when I travel…..in the US. I eat them abroad, and bring them home on my rear. Ha.

  8. Vicki says:

    I have to agree about the ‘fine’ slices – absolutely the only way, especially with proscuitto – I treat myself to the best proscuitto every few months and at Christmas. But it has to be the best quality and the finest slices. I even like it in a tossed green salad with home-made french dressing, but good crusty bread (or slim breadsticks) and a glass of wine are just the perfect accompaniments.

    I could live on antipasta.

  9. Eha says:

    Wonder about the proportionality of the ‘work load’ with that small glass of work enhancing liquids! Three slices equal about one pour 😉 ?

  10. Pingback: Cut glass…. (Food, Photography & France) | la Virginienne

  11. Wow, how did you come up with Omar Khayyam, that’s very interesting.

  12. I had to smile because I remember, as a teenager, about a loaf of bread and a jug of wine. I couldn’t wrap my head around it! I knew grocery store white bread and had only tasted Gallo or Christian Brother’s wine. Unless you count the Rhubarb wine a neighbor made and let me taste once in his garage.

  13. Amanda says:

    I’m always drinking in the kitchen….and not in the kitchen….Nice photos as always. I try to stick with good charcuterie too. 🙂

  14. We need to get you larger glasses for the wine. 🙂 Saves taking time repouring.

  15. That opening sentence and the one about the wine glass and cooking… the whole thing actually. I fucking love it 🙂

  16. Will have to show this to Big Man as he is the wielder of the sharp jamon knife – I keep well away from it!

  17. Fantastic and beautiful photos of the simple but elegant.

Leave a Reply

