Seeing for the first time, not understanding and being content…

molly_by_woodburner_smart

This image bears a resemblance, if not immediately apparent, to myself staring in wonder at the emptiness of the blank page. Whether with pencil, pen, paintbrush or poised finger tips I find my self frozen in attendance of the admonitory tones of my cerebral GPS which will make it clear to me to carry on, or make a U turn or just give me a clue as to where I am or where I could be going. Howard Hodgkin, the renowned painter, has said that he may spend a long, hard working day looking at a white wall. The white wall beats me every time. As an image maker, when my world has gone blank, I have to look to words to find where my pictures are coming from and as I looked up from that exercise  the cat was having a Pauline moment. This was his first sight of fire. As with my white wall there was no understanding but there was contentment which is as hard to find as inspiration.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Digital photography, Food photographer, Photographic Prints, Photography, photography course, Still life, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Seeing for the first time, not understanding and being content…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    It’s a cat’s life 🙂

  2. lulu says:

    Contentment I find as I sit by the fire looking out at my beautiful harbor. I must take in every moment before heading back to Houston where life is not quite the same.

  3. You’ve got a cat! 🙂

    • It adopted us….someeone must have dumped it out of a car and it only took very few minutes before it had found us….he lives in the outhouse ..comes in and visits in the day…likes sitting on my lap when I’m writing…cool little dude:)

  4. Th cat looks happy and content.

  5. You have just proved that good writers can even be inspired by writer’s block. Well done you. Watch the fire with the cat – inspiration will turn up as and when it’s ready.

  6. Lovely post as always- this picture, for some reason, reminds me of Christmas- although that is months away from being a seasonally appropriate comparison.

  7. This is a great write! I have often had those moments with my writing, photography, painting, etc. I understand well. I will be following your blog and look forward to reading more of your articles. Keep up the good work!

  8. a contented heart / mind is to be prized above all else methinks.

  9. You gave a beautiful example of how inspiration can strike from the unlikeliest of moments and usually when we are not staring at a blank page. A fantastic photo that has given us great contentment! Thank you.

  10. EllaDee says:

    I can’t always wrangle tangible creativity from my every-work-a-day environment but much as a kitty takes comfort and nurture from the warmth of a fire without understanding the mechanics of it, I take warmth from the possibilities of creativity that nevertheless exist.
    Our “community cat” too has great affection for the fire, and understands enough of the proceedings to supervise, and spend hours sleeping nearby 🙂

  11. Francesca says:

    When your having a white spell with images, i am sure your words will more than compensate.

  12. ardysez says:

    The blank white page is a familiar situation for me, but I’ve learned to leave it and go find something else that inspires me and sucks me back in again. Life is much more peaceful that way. Best to you and kitty.

  13. platedujour says:

    So where is that inspiration coming from for you? What is first- a picture in your head and then for example a recipe or text? For me it comes from the subjects for some reason, always the picture first if anything…If I can’t see it first, I know I will not share it with anyone.

  14. Eha says:

    Surely one of the most beautiful and peaceful scenes you have ever captured . . . oh puss methinks understands this new scenario only too well – which one of us is not drawn to warmth and light . . .

  15. That right there is zen shit! 🙂

  16. True, that would be a wonderful Christmas card!

  17. MELewis says:

    A true Norman Rockwell moment. Positively painterly!

  18. Roger, I never tire of staring at a fire. We can’t have a fireplace where we live, and I miss one. I looked into getting one of those tabletop, gas-burning units. Not the same………..

  19. How cozy. I found myself staring into a lot of bonfires this weekend and wishing for the life of a cat…

  20. Glad you’re being strict with the “outside” cat 😉

  21. Michelle says:

    I knew that cat would be inside soon. 🙂

  22. ChgoJohn says:

    Although I’ve a dog now, its predecessors were both dogs and cats. One thing is true for both animals. If you’re looking for the most comfortable part of the home, look for where they lie. Good luck moving them, though.
    I’m back, Roger. I’ve only 1 more trip planned, so, it looks like you’re all stuck with me now. 🙂

  23. Pure poetry, as usual. Seems to me you always find the words. Beautiful ones at that!

Leave a Reply

