Lifting the lid…..

sausage_sandwich_sl_0053

A very significant moment of the year has just occurred and passed, unnoticed, to all but me. I have put on a pair of socks. This ceremony is as clear a sign of seasonal change as naked druids dancing at dawn, but warmer. My knowledge of religion is intentionally limited but memory still serves to remind me of the discomfort of worship which is why I suggest that druids may be dancing without socks. There are few more precise indicators of hot and cold temperatures than my extremities so, henceforth, my socks and I will be an item until my feet let me know that the time to cast a clout is upon us yet again.

At this time of year, the introduction of socks into my daily life is not the only momentous change. The alliteration of sock and sausage leads me astray. Although not a committed vegetarian, I eat very little meat…..until the black sock is drawn over the foot like a blindfold. Senses numbed by superfine yarn to the squealing of slaughtered pigs I happily engage in consenting pleasure between man and sausage in the privacy of my own home although I draw the line at sausage dogging. I have seen how the pleasure afforded by a wholesome sausage sandwich can so easily lead to the free basing of pseudo sausages in sweet buns… known as “hot dogging”. Beware.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
Video | This entry was posted in 2014, Art photography, Cooking, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Hot Dog, Humour, Meat, Photographic Prints, Photography, photography course, Religion, Sausages, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Lifting the lid…..

  1. You’re a wise man, Roger.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Naked druids sound quite natural, but I’m trying very hard to avoid the mental picture that could form for hot dogging. I’m sure you are aware that socks and traditional pig slaughter are connected. You kill the pig and cure the meat when the weather turns cold, so that it doesn’t go off 😉

  3. Sausages in sweet buns… You sure can tell a fucking good story, I’ll give you that 🙂

  4. Nita says:

    God, i love your writing!

  5. I have it on very good authority that sausages do not count as red meat. So you need not feel any guilt, which I am sure you are not feeling. And when a good pork sausage (Cumberland is my favourite) is placed between two slices of good bread (hot dog bread is never good) they move to a higher plane.

    PS I went for the D700 in the end. Thanks for your help and recommendations; I checked them all but found that the 700 was the best fit for me.

    James

    • Very good choice indeed. I was in London last weekend doing a corporate workshop for Tilda Rice employees. They had bought a Nikon D5100, on my advice, that was also a very nice camera….not the up to the D700, but incredibly powerful and easy to use for such a low price. I think lenses are more and more important when dealing with digital cameras…they’re so expensive, however, that one needs a damn good reason to buy one.

  6. ardysez says:

    And my socks have come off. There is balance in the world after all. 🙂

  7. Safe socks – there’s no going back now…for about 6 months at least 😦

  8. It’s sock season here as well. Actually we quickly desended into warm coats and hat season! A bit too fast for my taste. Don’t mind comfy socks but I do mind looking like an oompa loompa.

  9. At 41 F/5 C, it’s hat, gloves, coat, scarf and sock weather here. Lovely hot dog 🙂

  10. You had me chuckling all the way through, who knew socks and sausages could be so entertaining….okay, that’s enough!

  11. I thought about your sock thing two days ago, Roger. It got cold enough to chill the concrete floor in our bedroom, and I thought it was almost time to get out the socks………..

  12. Socks and sausages will henceforth be linked with autumn in my mind. Thank you! 🙂

  13. suej says:

    …..and how many naked Druids have you seen dancing at dawn??

  14. Amanda says:

    Beautiful photo. I love that you realize how a simple thing like wearing socks signifies something so much bigger. I kind of want summer back.

  15. platedujour says:

    This is an awesome picture. I have something like this on my mind for a weeks now, so be ready 🙂 It’s on the way! I was just wondering- saw on one of the comments that you were recommending some cameras- are you Canon or Nikon?;-)

    • Definitely Nikon. I’ve had a Nikon since my first Nikon F in 1968 and I’ve had most of the different versions over the years. I now shoot with a D800 and a D90 in reserve. As they say: Canon are for engineers, Nikon for photographers ( sounds like the Nikon Press Office to me )

      • platedujour says:

        It looks like I’m an engineer then 😀 I have Canon 6 D, it was the best spent money in my entire life, but even before I got it I had another Canon. I just can’t get enough of Canon cameras and lenses, so user friendly for me. By the way I’m seriously thinking of participating in one of your workshops. I wanted to do it this October but couldn’t make it. I look at your pictures and I know there is so much work for me still to be done. But it’s so much fun!

  16. ……and what, about I see some ketchup there, is that home made too?

  17. Eha says:

    Well our weather may have hit 34 C already but my socks stay firmly on: some pretence of being safe from the poisonous spiders and lurking snakes and . . . don’t usually put sausages twixt my lips but your photo is a very good reminder lunch is due . . . .I wonder . . .

  18. EllaDee says:

    Not your average “snag sanger”… but then appropriate footwear for Aussies would be thongs, although thongs with socks may get you labelled a ”Bogan” but at least a warm, comfy Bogan 😉

  19. Francesca says:

    As funny and outrageous as usual. And are you partial to a bit of mash with your snags whilst wearing your atheistic socks?

  20. Hahaha.. well written! (as always) this gave me a good laugh this morning! I’ve been wrapping my little sausage piggies in socks for some weeks now.. and I don’t mind a hot dog now and then either!

  21. Ah, I hate socks. And I dislike getting to that place in the year when they become unavoidable. I think this week is the last sock-less one here.

Leave a Reply

