Getting a bit crusty with Ottolenghi…..

 

faut mettre les mains..

faut mettre les mains..

As a rule, it is unusual for me to find either TV chefs or lumps of cooked egg white enjoyable. There’s a relentlessness about television presenters, that may well be part of their training, which serves to quickly remove any interest that I may have, or have had, in whatever they may be saying, teaching or selling. The lack of pause, of silence, is enervating and conducive only to my fumbling for the off switch on the remote control, whose batteries will be as flat as my expectations,  in a desperate attempt to eclipse the on screen hyperactivity that is threatening to make me never want to cook again.

Oeufs durs with anchovies and a well made mayonnaise can change the rule about lumps of egg white as can Yotam Ottolenghi change the other. In truth, I did not see him, for which I am glad as I didn’t have to suffer any disillusionment, but Jenny shouted up to me that she had just seen a chef make some wonderful vegetable filled pies and that I should look up the recipe on the internet which I did and which is how I came across this excellent recipe for the shortest of pastries encasing some miraculously flavoured run of the mill vegetables. The crust is made from butter, flour and sour cream which is a combination that I had never before tried but which produces a pastry as short as one made with lard whilst feeling more virtuous. One of the pleasures of this recipe is the silky feeling of the pastry in one’s hands. Curry powder, thyme, caraway seeds, ground cardomom, black mustard seeds, green chillis and garlic transform traditional root vegetables into something quite unexpected and, possibly, addictive. I’m keeping Mr.Ottolenghi in the same place as the other cookery writers that I admire….in my book shelves.

veg_pie_ottolengh_2i_0015

Recipe2

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, anchovies, Art photography, Baking, Boiled eggs, Cheddar, Cheese, Cookery Writers, Cooking, creme fraiche, Eggs, Excellence, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Herbs and Spices, Olive oil, Photography, photography course, Pie, Recipes, Vegetables, warm vegetable pies, Writing, Yotam Ottolenghi and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Getting a bit crusty with Ottolenghi…..

  1. Ottolenghi is nothing short of brilliant, I love Jerusalem, one of my favorite cookbooks. I also really love your homage to Mr. O with those little pies which are spectacular.

  2. margaret21 says:

    Only yesterday, I treated myself to his new book, ‘Plenty More’, from whence this recipe appears to come. So glad I seem to have made an excellent choice.

  3. Amanda says:

    If it wren’t for Ottolenghi, I probably wouldn’t be doing what I do in the kitchen. This recipe, much like his other is wonderful. Thanks for sharing. I will totally try this.

  4. kstienemeier says:

    Oh wow! gotta make this ;D

  5. What wonderful execution of a fantastic recipe. Have loved Ottolenghi since my London days…so much inspiration and creativity!

  6. sabine says:

    These flavors sound spectacularly unusual, and I´m always completely amazed with recipes leading to shortcrust pastries without just using the usual suspects of ingredients !

  7. Looks like a dish MTM would love.

  8. platedujour says:

    Oh yummy! I want one 🙂

  9. These are wonderful. I am going to make these this weekend. What a fantastic recipe! Thank you for sharing a page from his book. Stunning photograph.

  10. Ooh – the book I don’t have yet…time to remedy that …. beautiful shot of the pies 🙂

  11. I like that Ottolenghi fellow also. Those pies look the business!! Nom nom nom 🙂

  12. EllaDee says:

    I noted the availability of Plenty More on a book selling website recently. I must add it to my wish list. In the meantime, this looks a very good recipe, and I can relate to your comment re the possibly addictive flavours – I make a pumpkin dish using similar and it is a food that seems to feed the soul 🙂

  13. Totally up my alley for little parties.

  14. spectacular looking!!!

    -http://noodles4thoughts.wordpress.com/

  15. God those look good. Chez vous must be the best place for tea today.

  16. They look great-Ottolenghi is fantastic and an example of how not all celebrity chefs are insufferable. I cannot stand Ramsey and many of the other celebrity chefs out there, but there are some really great chefs out there who defy that stigma.

  17. Sharon says:

    I can’t believe I’ve never heard of this cook before (Margaret why so silent?!) I’ve just looked at his website and the recipes look fabulous – maybe the book next. Thank you.

  18. Karen says:

    Every dish that I have seen prepared from one of Ottolenghi’s recipes looks and sounds great. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us, Roger.

  19. Mad Dog says:

    Ottolenghi definitely has a special way with vegetables and I quite like his enthusiasm on TV. It’s not often that someone can take my mind of carving up slabs of meat 😉

  20. Michelle says:

    I don’t know when I’ve last seen anything that looked so good, Roger. What a beautiful pic. I love his books, too, as well as the Guardian column.

Leave a Reply

