Summer thoughts…

tarte_tom_mozz_0044

The laziness of summer days can be deliciously enervating. Only the bees are immune to this lassitude. August brings the humming noise of quietness to the garden which means that the last delinquent fledglings of this year are preparing to leave. In the winter ennui of January and February I’ll be chastising myself for not drinking up enough of this peaceful warmth. The truth is that this happiness cannot be tasted or consumed as it would be far too rich a dish. It is enough to be aware of its passing; of the fleeting moments of its existence.

The pleasure I enjoy from making food to eat, and taking pictures of it, allows me to have these extravagant thoughts that are as full of hot air as the cushion of puff pastry beneath this carnal pile of gaping tomatoes oozing gobs of oil mixed with their own sweet juices. When we eat food, like this, in our garden on a perfect summer evening we ingest some of the moment which will remain with us as an unspoiled memory, maybe even gaining in flavour over the passing years. To add to that flavour, we had white peach tarts for pudding.

white_peach_tarts_0014

 

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, Baking, buffalo mozzarella, Cheese, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Fruit, Mediterranean food, Memory, Peach Tart, peaches, Photography, photography course, puff pastry, tart, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Summer thoughts…

  1. Those tarts look fucking brilliant!! I want! Well done, my friend. 🙂

  2. Darya says:

    Lovely words. I cannot agree more. I’m supposed to be working like crazy, instead, I am listening to the birds and bees and inspecting my parents’ garden. And we’re making tartes and quiches too; for every meal!

  3. Sally says:

    Love how you savour every moment – a lesson for life.

  4. Puff pastry, is just so inviting for so many different and endless creations, I just love to bake and simmer in ideas with that. Roger, your creations are truly inviting and mouth watering, and never fail in wanting me to have a bite RIGHT NOW!!!

  5. I’ve been eating peaches every morning. When I get tired of eating them fresh, I will make a tart. Summer in France… I have no luck with. Every time I go there is autumn or winter…grrr.

  6. Karen says:

    There is nothing like summertime eating…so pleasurable.

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Great work! What sext tarts 😉

  8. Eha says:

    Grinning on a mid-winter morning with a top temp of 23 C forecast . . . . Mad and Roger – the whole post seems awfully sext to me . . . . lovely feeling on a Sunday forenoon . . .

  9. What gorgeous photos, I could dive in and eat that right now. Delicious

  10. ” When we eat food, like this, in our garden on a perfect summer evening we ingest some of the moment which will remain with us as an unspoiled memory” such a beautiful thought…exactly my sentiments 🙂

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    Delicious. We are just back from a French retreat. It’s the August holiday weekend in Ireland. I sit here watching the rain being swept around the garden by high winds. Very different to our Bordeaux experiences.

  12. brincs says:

    Both look extremely delicious. And a great post by the way.

  13. You have me dreaming that I too could make these beautiful tarts to enjoy in the garden…. maybe!

  14. EllaDee says:

    That moment you describe is so tangible that I feel it looking over my shoulder, nodding its head approvingly 🙂

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    You are so right, Roger. Some days, I’m so caught up with things indoors that I have to stop myself, grab a cocktail or glass of wine, and head into the yard for a spell. As you said, come January or February, I’ll curse myself for not taking better advantage of these fleeting moments. If I can replicate that tart of yours, so much the better. 🙂

  16. Eha says:

    Two of the most fabulous guys I would like to spend time with . . . the bf-ing two of you . . . you both know that every second in the life which has been given to you IS important!! OK . . . . huge hugs to both and may you be not too mad at me . . .

  17. You can never cook with too much puff pastry methinks!

  18. Both those tarts turned out so beautifully, Roger. And I’m already thinking I should have done more with summer since it’s already August….

  19. Oh that is a perfect meal. Add the wine and I’d be in heaven.

  20. Why, oh why did I open this at lunchtime? My cold tuna salad pales in comparison. 😉

  21. Mary Frances says:

    Both of these are just lovely, and so obviously made with careful loving hands. As fleeting as it is I hope your summer continues to be relaxing and full of delicious food.

  22. ‘When we eat food, like this, in our garden on a perfect summer evening we ingest some of the moment which will remain with us as an unspoiled memory, maybe even gaining in flavour over the passing years.’

    Excellent thought,

  23. What beautiful desserts…summery…golden and using all the best that summer has to offer. Great photos and story.

Leave a Reply

