I got the bleus..du ciel, de la mer..the summertime bleus.

It might surprise you to hear that I’ve been ranting quite a lot over the last day or two, although surprise may not be first among the emotions felt, by those of you who know me well, on hearing that unsurprising news. I’ve been ranting over WordPress.org’s user unfriendliness only to realise that it was this user who was being unfriendly to something that he hadn’t fully understood so I had to rant, quite vigorously, at myself. Self ranting is not half so much fun as self abuse so I must try to stop. A reduction in self ranting can result in airy calms which is something that I currently need, so I’m going to think about nice things and not about my photography website that now has no pages.

table_setting_smart_29

I’m going to think of summer lunches, under cloudless blue skies, in an elegant courtyard on a tiny island off the coast of the Vendée..of butter basted, herb filled roast chicken with good bread, well dressed salad and chilled wine under the kind shade of a huge parasol…of pink slices of crisp skinned, garlic and anchovy spiked gigot served with thinly sliced potatoes that cooked beneath it and slowly soaked up the juices like we soaked up the sun….of family and good company…and of sea, sun and all the other good stuff…..and

gigot_smart_20

of Edward Hopper who was the influence for these pictures. I feel an airy calm coming on…..

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, anchovies, Art photography, Chicken, Cooking, Cuisine bourgeoise, Digital photography, Emotion, family, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, gigot, harmony, Humour, Ile d'Oleron, Mediterranean food, Memory, Photography, photography course, summer, Uncategorized, Vendee, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to I got the bleus..du ciel, de la mer..the summertime bleus.

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I won’t ask what happened – the lunch, sky and setting look perfect 😉

  2. Hmmm I wonder if I’m not being user friendly to my page as well. I did send in a note to the support group which, as far as I can tell, hasn’t responded. I think I need a courtyard like yours to restore sanity. 🙂

  3. Flora says:

    Summer lunches under cloudless blue skies…perfect 🙂

  4. bizzyella says:

    Oh, that lamb… I don’t know that Hopper had much in the way of friends, much less an appetite, but really, who cares? What a lovely table and what a lovely meal it must have been.

  5. margaret21 says:

    You need to talk to one of those nice but oddly- named ‘Happiness Engineers’. They’re actually very human, patient and helpful. Don’t know what’s gone wrong, but hope it’s sorted soon.

  6. No pages? Oh fuck, that eats balls.

    Feel that airy calm my brother, as airy calm is way more legit than airy trousers.

    Smiley face

  7. Hopper can calm anyone, Roger. Your pictures are a worthy tribute to him.

    If I can answer any questions about what’s happened, I’m happy to try. I understand the WordPress.org backend a little. 🙂

  8. Eha says:

    I was quite contented amidst a morning of winter gloom until that courtyard with promises of that food and vino somehow appeared on my screen . . . selfishly now I cannot wait to try and replicate . . . about two months to go 🙂 ! Lyons and charcuterie . . . . when I say ‘peagreen’ it means just that!!!!

  9. I am glad to hear that you got the bleus and not the blues, much better the bleu of the sky!

  10. EllaDee says:

    I’m green with envy at the bleu of that sky… but they say blue and green should never be seen 😉

  11. All those positive thoughts and that bright blue must have perked you right up:)

  12. Happy thoughts…happy thoughts….ommmmm! Somehow though I can’t imagine you in the lotus position, bonging yours chimes and channeling positive energy….best open another bottle of wine 😉

  13. Sitting in that courtyard with a delicious dejeuner would certainly take away my blues.

  14. Hi Roger, hopefully this will cheer you up. I followed all your tips and the parmigiana was delicious. Thank you. Emma.

  15. I am salivating over that lamb…and I borderline want to make it the desktop background for my PC. It’s essentially what all my dreams look like.

  16. A perfectly roasted leg of lamb, a beautifully set table and a view to die for…..what a lovely post.

  17. I love the brightness and intensity of the blues in your photos…or is that just your amazing surroundings? I believe it’s both.

Leave a Reply

