the smell of the cooking, and the roar of the cook….

cherries_rose_0010

I’ve had a quiet day cooking on my own. The cooking was quiet but the peace was spoiled by someone talking to himself. Being alone in the house does not spare me from myself. My mistake lies in turning on the radio which allows uninvited opinions into my kitchen and mind. I very nearly wrote “wireless” which terminology used in relation to our wire strewn house would have been as far from the truth as the opinions to which I was allowing myself to listen. In company, it is polite to consider the worth of another person’s opinion but, when engaged in solitary cooking, there is no right opinion save for one’s own and how invigorating that is. It can be very difficult listening to these misguided opinions over the volume and vigour of my onanistic diatribe, but as each presenter becomes progressively more enraging I have to spur myself on to keep up the tirade. How I love the hiss and boo of one sided argument. In the midst of this onslaught my cooking mind remains calm and focused. Should there be another person, incarnate, in the kitchen during these outbursts, things can go badly wrong. As long as the people remain ethereal I can continue my philippic without burning the cakes.

Today, there were no cakes to burn. Summer cooking eschews cakes, or it eschewed them today as I had a kilo of cherries that seemed hell bent on getting stoned and throwing themselves into a light syrup of  rosé wine. This is a wonderfully simple dish that can be served warm or cold, in crystal or in an empty glass yoghourt pot, and which never fails to please. I have been told by an old wife that cherries are good for gout, so I shall be eating as many as possible. I didn’t confer with the old wife as to whether cooking them in rosé could reduce their anti gout properties…..I knew her opinion would only get me going again.

cherries_rose_0024

This is a very delicious recipe from the pen of Mary Cadogan
Cherries in Rose wine

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, cherries, Cherries in rose wine, Cherries in rose wine, Cookery Writers, Cooking, desserts, Digital photography, Drinks, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Humour, Mary Cadogan, Photography, photography course, Recipes, summer, Uncategorized, wine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to the smell of the cooking, and the roar of the cook….

  1. My French Heaven says:

    What a great idea! Simple, fresh, delicious. I will make this for sure. I had bought some stunning cherries at the market yesterday and made a clafoutis this morning. It’s already all gone I’m afraid. I will post about it tomorrow…

  2. Nice photos. Love the yogurt jar.

  3. a delightful story I can easily relate to. pitted and baked cherries in alcohol (cognac and triple-sec) today too.

  4. Roger! I love your photography. I see you do workshops in London, do you ever do any in France? I live in Western Germany, so getting to France is a little easier 🙂

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I often swear at Radio 4 myself – especially the dumbed down bits aimed at grown up children!
    However, those cherries in rose wine and vanilla syrup won’t last long enough get into trouble 😉

  6. margaret21 says:

    Note to self: make this dish SOON.

  7. Yum yum yum yum yum yum yum. Did I say YUM?

  8. Michelle says:

    Oh, Roger, please don’t turn the radio on if you come visit the States again. The monologues are more awful than anything you can possibly imagine. Oh, but what a lovely recipe! (And pics.)

  9. EllaDee says:

    Cherries any way except glacé are wonderful. The radio and TV can communicate truly appalling opinions however have the appeal of instigating my own but not responding directly to my replies. A perfect one-sided argument, where I always win.

  10. Eha says:

    Hmmph . . . I better not confess I do not even know where one of my [methinks!] multitudinous radios is situated 🙂 ! Has not been ‘my thing’ for years!!!! Am old enough not to annoy myself with stuff I do not want to hear . . . and young enough to find information should I need it 😀 !!

  11. I am so with you, listening to the radio, while doing some magic in my kitchen and having in my mind how to photograph it. Not to get distracted by some nonsense or rather news which evoke my liberal thinking going into a not so good stage of mind, I turn the radio channel into some great classical music…… and there it happens, that my mind finds the peace it needed to be in.
    And Cherries are so much to be cherished in what ever way to enjoy them……

  12. Sally says:

    I really meant to photography cherries in their beautiful natural state but we ate them all! You describe exactly my relationship to cooking while listening to Radio 4 🙂

  13. Magic. I can’t wait for cherry season… Only six months away!! Smiley face

  14. I adore cherries. I am always buying them from the market. Your’s look especially delicious. Perfect for the summer. My husband really loves the radio, but I prefer to cook in silence as I find it very meditative. There is also a blackbird who loves to sit in a pine tree in the neighbours garden who I love listening to. If I listen to the radio I prefer a good story or play rather than someones opinions. Emma xx

    • I too prefer a good story or play but they seem to be over so quickly as I may be in the kitchen for 3 or 4 hours. I do mostly listen to Radio 4 which I like immensely. Yesterday’s blog was really a rant at LBC which I dislike intensely. It’s like banging your head against a wall in order to enjoy the relief when you stop:)

  15. What perfectly gorgeous cherries. I love the idea of them floating in a goblet in that lovely syrup.

  16. I’ve been away from here for far too long.. having just picked up a luscious punnet of cherries and supping on a lovely pinot at the River Café this past weekend, I hear this recipe calling to me.. or was that my own voice I hear;)

  17. I talk to the TV a lot! And to my dogs …. I love cherries and wish Dave did as well so that I could use them more often 🙂

  18. Can’t do talk radio while cooking…must have music.
    Lovely recipe and photos!

  19. Mary Frances says:

    There really is something so satisfying about arguing with the television/ radio.

    I love this recipe- it looks perfect for an outdoor summer gathering.

  20. chef mimi says:

    How lovely! Sometimes simplicity is perfection, non?!!!

  21. Perfection! And yes, they’re good for gout (you can also buy sour cherry juice and capsules but that’s just boring). Stick to the cherries with rose wine!

Leave a Reply

