a little peach on peach action…..

two_peaches

Pêche de Vigne, as a name, would not be out of place on a burlesque billboard.The annual appearance of the flat peach is an event to which I look forward and by which I have never been disappointed. Before moving to France I had never encountered this exotic hybrid of the peach family but I have no doubt that this relates to fashion rather than to rarity. This is a peach by name but not by beauty….to the retailer, that is. To add to the retailer’s displeasure was the fact that this toothsome beauty is very delicate and doesn’t travel well. It does appear that bad science has found ways to make it more readily marketable as I am now accustomed to seeing plastic boxes filled with nonperishable, long life versions of these fruits. It is far too early in the season for local pêches de vigne but I gave into temptation and feasted on some of these delicate fruit which had, no doubt, traveled in an atmosphere of inert gases from points much further south. The taste was a pale representation of the fruit in its full pomp, but it was a good reminder of what is to come.

Having spent some time with these peaches, what I had noticed was the condition of the skin of the peach. “Skin like a peach” is a well worn phrase suggesting beautifully smooth, soft skin. The skin of these peaches was definitely wanting in the smooth and beautiful departments. In the pictures above you will see, on the left,  the skin of the peche de vigne as it is on the shelf. I have applied frequency retouching, as in a cosmetic beauty shot, to those in the picture on the right. Strangely enough I appear to have created a peachy Adam and Eve that I have put into a Michelangelesque version of finger touching creation…how the pêche plate became a pêche phat.

comp-1

I can’t wait for the real thing to arrive, in nature’s good time and without the addition of inert gases.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, Digital photography, Excellence, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, peaches, peches de vigne, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Photoshop, Retouching, Still life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to a little peach on peach action…..

  1. Can’t wait either and so far all gassy plastic packaged mealy one have landed in spontaneous jams. These peaches are so perfect for sweet and savory dishes.

  2. I had never seen these either till here in France. I must confess I looked twice to figure out what fruit they are! I will wait for local ones to sample though.

  3. catterel says:

    Same here – seem to be uniquely French. I’m reminded of a story my beautician told me about a client who had a lot of down on her face. After waxing, said client’s husband complained: “You’ve turned my peach into a nectarine!”

  4. There you go, getting all pervy again…

  5. Mad Dog says:

    It’s funny you should mention them, because they are available in London now, I saw a child eating one on the Overground on Saturday. I have to confess that I’ve always thought the skin of a peach was a bit odd and not soft like the skin of lady at all…

  6. fransiweinstein says:

    Here, in Canada, they are called donut peaches and they are my all time favourite. Especially the white ones. It’s too early for our locals as well, although we have imports. I am waiting. There’s something to be said for anticipation and yearning:)

  7. In the US, these are now marketed as “donut peaches” and have become very popular. I love how fragrant they are.

  8. I am really enjoying your stone fruit posts. You are effectively building anticipation for what’s to come…

  9. We get them in Spain and I thikn they’re clled (bizarrely) Paraguayas – I’ve seen them on the South Coast of England this year but so far they don’t taste of anything 😦

  10. Mary Frances says:

    I love all the beautiful and strange fruits that come into season this time of year, it’s a shame that they’re not more available (or at least the good, natural ones aren’t)

  11. Roger, South Carolina is one of the biggest peach producing states in the USA. Yet, we must not grow this version of the peach, because I’ve never seen it here. A late freeze killed off much of our peach crop this year, but I’m hoping to find a few at the Farmers Market this Saturday. I’ll ask one of my farmer friends if he knows anything about this variety.

  12. Thank you for your Michelangelosque description of peaches…. , a new word creation of mine, you kind of make me creating words which never exist but seem to me more descriptive,……. I wonder if your writing has an effect on my writing…….me as a second language English….Today I had just allowed my teeth to sink into one of those peaches, but organic ones I don’t like to have paper peaches to taste…… and it was like a heaven of softness in my taste buds….The season is just to begin

  13. My French Heaven says:

    They truly are the best aren’t they? I do look forward to them coming around every year. Beautiful photos too!

  14. MELewis says:

    Funny, this is not the same ‘peche de vigne’ that I know. Maybe there are several varieties? We lived for many years in Soucieu-en-Jarrest, which has the distinction of being ‘Capitale de la Peche de Vigne’ and the fabled fruit we celebrated every September was a like a peach version of the blood orange – red in flesh and almost strawberry-like in flavour. Here’s another food blogger’s post on it: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2005/08/pche-de-vigne/

  15. Wow and double Wow! These peaches are magnificent in both color tones and shape. They look like what we call here in the Southern USA “white peaches”, which are some of the best peaches in the universe. Lovely lovely photos as always.

  16. olganm says:

    Yes, I was going to comment on the Paraguayos thing in Spain. Here in the UK we get the sometimes but like the other peaches not much taste. I usually don’t bother. Nectarines can be OK sometimes.

Leave a Reply

