Wickedleeks….

leeks_bunches_blur_0009

I don’t know much about a science book, and I don’t know much about the French I took …but anything I’m not sure about, as long as it’s to do with vegetables or local French, can be resolved by our neighbours, Fernand and Jeanette. Fernand has recently retired from a lifetime of farming which has taken its toll of his back. To avoid the endless bending, which cultivating a vegetable patch demands, all operations are carried out, as far as possible, in a sedentary position. pink_seat_0011A pink painted, tubular metal garden stool is used for lifting last year’s plants in preparation for turning the soil for the new planting. To keep within this chromatic scheme, a bright orange mini tractor will be used for preparing the soil, and then back to the pink throne for the planting. Interestingly, and wisely, Fernand has not opted for the same colour scheme in his work attire so, had it not been for the vibrant pink work station, I would not have spotted him lifting the remnants of last year’s leeks. As it happened, he had already put aside for me a pile of these delicious, tiny leeks. I spent some time sorting them into bunches this morning whilst deciding what to do with them. There will definitely be some leeks vinaigrette which are amongst my favourite hors d’oeuvre, particularly when they are this small and fresh. A leek tart, with very short pastry, has to be a possibility as does a cheese and leek soufflé, which I haven’t made for some time. Soufflés were always a challenge to photograph for film or stills. Speed was always of the essence, but I remember trying all sorts of bizarre tricks to make them stay risen for that moment longer than expected. Amongst the ruses was the placing of thick iron nuts and bolts in the bottom of the soufflé dish, the intention being that the iron objects would absorb a great deal of heat in the cooking process and retain some of it when the soufflés were taken out,  and in so doing provide residual heat to prevent the immediate collapse of the dish. I don’t think it was totally  successful and I strongly advise against using it at home. A sixpence in the Christmas pudding is amusing, but a red hot iron bolt in a mouthful of soufflé is going to lose you friends ….and maybe some of your own teeth.

souffle_cheese_leek_5931_0014

Here’s one or two that I have just made…there were three but I had to eat one…I left out the nuts and bolts and just shot very quickly. Here’s the recipe that I found on British and Irish Food – http://britishfood.about.com/od/recipeindex/r/cheeseleeksouff.htm

Leek and Cheese Souffle

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cheese, Christmas, Cooking, Cuisine bourgeoise, Digital photography, Eggs, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, friendship, Garden, Gardening, Humour, Leek and cheese souffle, leeks, Photography, photography course, Recipes, souffle, Uncategorized, Vegetables, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Wickedleeks….

  1. Sally says:

    Leek season is just about to start here. Loads of good ideas.

  2. cecilia says:

    Oh just wonderful, what a prize, fresh baby leeks.. have a lovely day, is spring there then?.. c

  3. Mad Dog says:

    You’ve let the cat out of the bag!

  4. Very nice indeed my friend!

  5. I shall heed your advice and not put large metal objects in my soufflés from now on, Roger. I wonder why nobody wanted me to cook for them.

  6. Leeks. I adore leeks, Roger. MTM will be making these souffles for me when I get home. (It’s torture to come over here right now, but it gives me some culinary genius to look forward to.)

  7. Eha says:

    Oh wish I could get such small leeks: I can taste them from here!! And top marks for the souffles . . .hmm, should really pull my finger out! As far as Fernand’s pink chair goes, mine is a bright green light bench one can turn upside down: one way one can sit, the other way kneel with strong handles on both sides to help you rise in a fashion denying age 🙂 !

  8. Vicki says:

    I love leeks too.

    Leek & potato soup used to be my favourite leek dish, but haven’t made it for a couple of years.

  9. I have never seen tiny leeks before. Seems they do deserve something special to be done with them. Gorgeous looking soufflé as well as the little bundles of leeks!

  10. Oh, soufflés, are a bit of a challenge, but so delicious, I love to make a cheese soufflé with leek. Roger I love your featured image, it’s so colorful and inviting, great change.

  11. It’s near midnight and I’m hungry. Should have never opened your blog. 😉

  12. ChgoJohn says:

    Good tip about the bolts, Roger. I’ve never attempted a soufflé. Visions of pulling a pancake out of the oven have kept me from attempting one. Yours here, though, certainly do look good.

  13. this made me smile this morning, from the enchanting title, the story with the pink stool, the lovely pictures and the delicious recipes: just my kind of post. bravo!

  14. Those are great looking leeks!

  15. Beautiful leeks and what perfectly behaved soufflees!

  16. Amanda says:

    Wow. Baby leeks and a souffle? You really are something.

  17. catterel says:

    Drooling over those photos – truly wicked leeks! And HOW fast you must have been on the trigger for the soufflés 🙂

  18. Hello, Cheerio says:

    There’s a song somewhere in that first sentence… I just know it.

    Also, your photos always make me want to run to the grocer and go home to cook something amazing. And then photograph it.

  19. ..What a wonderful world it would be….da dum….there is a lovely version of that song with the inimitable James Taylor and Simon and Garfunkel. Thanks for reminding me about it! Those leeks looks so beautiful – I saw horrid fat, thick ones, pre packed in threes in the shops yesterday so I have leek envy now. Your soufflés worked very well despite the lack of red hot iron in their midst. And I love the pink chair/stool…!

  20. Karen says:

    What beautiful little leeks…I’ve never had any that small. Your soufflés look absolutely wonderful and must have been delicious.

Leave a Reply

