It appears that I may be a man of great expectations…..

pin_ball_grad_map2_1711
A pin ball wizard I am not, but it does appear as though the ball that I hopefully fired some months ago has avoided the first pitfalls, rung some bells, set some lights flashing and is now rushing towards ….who knows what. To my delight, this afternoon, I was informed that I had been selected as a Finalist in this year’s Pink Lady Food Photographer of the Year competition. Much as I would love to show the images that have been selected, I am bound to secrecy so my lips, and fingers, are sealed.

I am now going to retire to a chair by the fire, with a glass of something good, and think how lucky I am as opposed to Elvis who can’t believe his bad luck as Ann Margret laughingly pushes him under a speeding car for singing in French.

elvis_poster_grad_map_1714

 

 

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, Art photography, Digital photography, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Photography, photography course, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to It appears that I may be a man of great expectations…..

  1. A well-deserved honor, Roger. Congratulations. I’m looking forward to the post that names you the winner. 🙂

    I’m going to be in the house where Elvis was born in about three weeks. *pinches self*

  2. But of course! I have been thinking for years that you should enter this. Good luck!

  3. Cara Hobday says:

    Fantastic! That’s great news Roger, and I am so pleased for you!
    The recognition you deserve, really good. I will raise a glass of something to you tonight too, right now I will share your good news with all.
    Very best
    Cara

  4. Congratulations Roger – very well deserved indeed!

  5. Wow, congratulations Roger, I love your stunning photography, very inspiring.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  6. Congratulations and in your birthday week!!

  7. Fantastic! Frankly, I’m tempted to utter “for Queen and country!” Since you’ve relocated, I’m not sure how well received that would be. In light of that, I say illegitimi non carborundum! 🙂

  8. Mad Dog says:

    Good luck Roger – I’m hoping it’s not someone sitting in a bath full of baked beans eating a fired peanut butter and banana sandwich 😉

  9. Lauren says:

    aahh congrats on the short-listing and what a splendid poster, that typography is something else!

  10. MELewis says:

    Congrats!
    And the Canada Dry! Quel clin d’oeil.

  11. Fabulous news and I just know that if they have any sense at all…you’ll be crowned the winner!

  12. Karen says:

    Congratulations on being in the finales, I’ll have my fingers crossed for you. If I was a judge you would most definitely be the winner!

  13. Great! Congratulations, well deserved. Your photographs are always so stunning and inspiring, even when food is not involved!

  14. Vicki says:

    What exciting news.
    Congratulations – your stunning photos are certainly ‘winning’ entries. We’ll all keep our fingers crossed for you.

  15. Eha says:

    Congratulations! Seriously hoping you and Mad were having a ‘funny’ up above ~ and what an interesting link to peruse!!

  16. Well, congratulations! I hope you win!

  17. Michelle says:

    I love that plural in “images … have been selected” Last year, one. This year more. Next year, I’m sure you’ll sweep the show!

  18. Sally says:

    Fingers crossed for glory – your images are exquisite and so, so edible.

  19. anne54 says:

    Well done You!! The other finalists must be quaking in their boots, knowing that you are in the running. 🙂

  20. sabine says:

    Congrats on your nomination! I hope you´ll win!

  21. Congratulations! I look forward to seeing the pictures when you can share them. 🙂 And fingers crossed you’ll win!

  22. Congratulations Roger, what a wonderful achievement!!!!

  23. margaret21 says:

    Oh wow! Fingers crossed indeed. And thank you for introducing me to the Pink Lady too.

  24. catterel says:

    Great news – merde and whatever the food photographer’s version is of “Break a leg!” Do keep us posted on the results 😀

  25. ChgoJohn says:

    Fantastic news, Roger, and so well-deserved. Good luck in the final go-round.

Leave a Reply

