Sodden and Tomorrah…

flood_reflection3_089….it’ll rain again. In Biblical weather such as this, Mrs.Lot would only have survived as a pillar of salt for a scant few minutes before transmogrifying into a saline puddle. As I rounded the corner of a country lane, on my heavy hearted way to the rubbish dump, I was surprised to see a simulation of this imagined biblical moment spread out like a smooth mirror, in a sodden field, perfectly reflecting sky and land. Amongst my many failings is the lack of one the most important qualities demanded from a news photographer; a lack that happily prevented me following such an arduous profession. That quality entails always having a camera on one’s person or the news remains unrecorded. I rarely have a camera with me and, even if I did, the news has a habit of happening very quickly and I take pictures very slowly.

This portrait of a Mrs.Lot “look alike” would normally have remained unrecorded but, thanks to the gift of a marvellous camera which has a telephone in it, I was able to skid to halt and, in a twinkling of an eye, snap this moment of Mother Nature showing off. The twinkling was a long twinkling as the technology of this camera had me on the ropes. As I pressed the camera icon I must have simultaneously touched another button which engaged the mode for a sightless person. I now had a voice telling me that I was looking through a camera but the voice was unwilling to tell me how to use the camera. My fingers played a tattoo on the touch screen which had no apparent photographic effect but encouraged the disembodied voice to reassure me Β that it was indeed a camera. I “blindly” pointed the machine at Mrs.Lot and begged, cajoled and cursed it to make a reproduction of the scene. It very nearly caused a ripple in Mrs.Lot’s features, but I resisted throwing the machine. Remarkably, when I plugged the phone into the computer on my return home, amongst the pictures of the road and my fingers, there was also this remarkable image. I’m not sure who took it, the telephone or me, but here it is.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, Digital photography, France, Landscapes, Photography, photography course, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Sodden and Tomorrah…

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – it has rained so much here that Scotland is about float off out into the Atlantic πŸ˜‰

  2. catterel says:

    Love the thought of this as Mrs Lot – and have great sympathy for your stalwart efforts with the so-called “smart” phone. Mine, too, frequently produces surrealistic and impressionist ic images of fingers and unidentified objects. But this is a delightful pic.

  3. Great title and lovely picture πŸ™‚

  4. Wait, they have a camera app for blind people? My first reaction was that is right up there with drive up ATMs with braille. But I suppose this would be cool if a blind person was wondering what the scenery looked like.

  5. I could only imagine how it sounded in the cab this morning. I’m thinking it along the lines of Peter Sellers trying to figure out his new spy technology as Chief Inspector Clouseau.

  6. John harvey says:

    Love it. The rain in Bath less photogenic. Hope you might visit!

  7. cecilia says:

    Phone took it. Very pretty, so GREEN! and I learnt something i am to plug the phone into the computer, i always wondered how people got the pic in there.. maybe I will take my camera phone for a walk today! though i guess I have to find the special connecting strings? c

  8. saucygander says:

    haha! I have those phone moments all the time. Transmogrify: my . favorite word, always trying to sneak it into work documents. πŸ˜›

  9. That is a fabulous title. Clever you!!!! I love the greenness of your photo, and the mirror effect. My smart phone is smarter than me and drives me up the pole. It keeps telling me that it wants to download things, and even yelled at me for attention in the middle of the night (I have since deprived it of an internet connection after ten, or I’ll turn into a pumpkin).

  10. Fig & Quince says:

    How interesting: my camera has a phone in it too! πŸ˜‰ I chuckled my way through the first sentence and continued with mirth the rest of the way! Thank you!

  11. Gorgeous phone capture, Roger. You asked what I took a photo with the other day, and it’s always my iPhone. I use the Camera+ app on there to make any changes, but my phone is the only camera I have. I did the same thing today on a long walk, trying to take a snap of a dang cardinal.

  12. Vicki says:

    Great shot.

    I have enough trouble answering a phone call (or seeing the buttons to text a “Thnx”) on my mobile phone, but It does take photos somewhere or other on the damn thing – I shot a photo on it once, by accident – but never ever did find the manual to work out how to get it off the phone onto my computer.

  13. a delightful read to begin my day. I fear I would be amongst those throwing the phone / camera somewhere, anywhere to keep it from telling me how to do something I can’t figure out. Thankfully you persisted and allowed it do to its thing and then bless us with this beautiful image. Okay, maybe there is something to these phones after all!

  14. I like that reflection in the pool of water.

  15. suej says:

    Nice capture, phone or no phone….

  16. stunning photo! They say that an IPhone is a camera that can send text messages πŸ™‚

  17. Clever title and stunning photo – I need to sue my camera phone more!

  18. Oops – use, not sue πŸ˜‰

  19. Clever you. Clever phone. So glad you caught Mrs. Lot!

  20. Flora says:

    Very witty πŸ™‚

  21. Karen says:

    Such a funny story, Roger. I can just imagine the famous photographer suddenly being blinded as far as the phone was concerned and yet it assisting the famous photographer in capturing such a beautiful imagine. Even though you have had way too much rain, the subject is beautiful and I thank you and the phone for capturing such a lovely moment in nature. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

