Pear tatin….. whilst dreaming of mangoes

compAs I was peeling the pears for this evenings pudding my eyes kept wandering and my mouth kept watering over the thought of the two ripe mangoes that were sitting in a bowl on the worktop. Winter directs my hand and mind to warm puddings, even though they may be eaten with cold cream, iced or otherwise. The mangoes had fruit salad written all over them which is delicious but unacceptable on the moment. Mango tatin on the other hand would be very fulfilling, but I had started so I would continue. My mind was not involved with the operations that concerned my hands and eyes alone so it could marvel at the origininality of mango tatin and why no one had thought of it. A googlesecond later made me aware that, as opposed to having struck the motherlode of invention, I was nearly alone in not having considered it previously. And it was in this way that the pear tatin, or this particular pear tatin, got it’s speckled skin which some might call burnt areas but I call speckled skin. To be truly successful eyes, hands and mind need to be engaged simultaneously although it would be true to say that the mango tatin that my mind alone created looks absolutely magnificent.
pear_tatin_15jan_0016

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2014, baking, Cooking, creme fraiche, desserts, Digital photography, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, Fruit, Pears, Photography, tarte tatin, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Pear tatin….. whilst dreaming of mangoes

  1. mrsugarbears says:

    My mouth is watering salaciously.

  2. “A googlesecond later made me aware that, as opposed to having struck the motherlode of invention, I was nearly alone in not having considered it previously.”

    I’ve done that before, thinking I had an original idea only to find I showed up late to the party. At least we came around by our own creativity, Roger.

  3. suej says:

    Mmm, tasty! Personally, my pear based winter comfort food is pear clafoutis, with a good libation of Williams Schnapps to liven it up…

  4. cecilia says:

    Dreamer! Pear tartin is a favourite of mine. Though I look forward to your mango version.. c

  5. This looks yummy… i am not very good with deserts, i don’t have a very sweet tooth, much more into savouries. But i’d love to have a piece of your pear tatin… Also Roger when you have time, i’d appreciate your feedback as a connoisseur of France and expert blogger/writter. I am looking for views/comments on an assignment for a journalism course I am doing and I thought I would ask you for your views, of course if you would like to and if you have the time. Here is the piece http://wp.me/p3B8xy-ng on a travel feature to the Ardeche region, South of France. Thanks a lot. Laura

  6. Either one sounds delicious! I love the photos and the story.

  7. Wow! Absolutely beautiful!

  8. Mango is my very, very favourite fruit but when it comes to Tatin I think I’ll stick to your lovely pear and apple versions. Mine you – I may change my mind in a googlesecond (loved that!) if I ever tasted your mango one 🙂

  9. EllaDee says:

    As pear is my favorite fruit for tatin, my eyes are happy indulging in your efforts, which appear nicely caramelized to them. It’s mango season here, and although I consume them in various ways I can’t think of them cooked in any form… I hope your visualization was better than the images my Google search turned up, and I look forward to you at some stage providing an alternative view.

  10. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – you need a hot tart/pie for ice cream at this time of year 😉

  11. am thinking some fresh whipped cram over the speckled skin of your pears would be quite delicious.

  12. Vicki says:

    What delicious photos (as usual).

    Mango (anything) to me would be delicious. Somehow I never think of France as having mangoes in the stores or market. Are they imported?

  13. Michelle says:

    Ah, Google, puncturer of dreams. I’ll take your pear version any day though.

  14. I don’t think I’ve ever seen mango baked in anything, so that could be interesting. Tarte tatin is still my favorite, though.

  15. Gerard Pozzi says:

    Nice post! Have you ever made a rhubarb tart?

  16. Again, I wish I could place standing orders for these, and that they would somehow make it here in one piece.

    I flew over your house yesterday. We were in Barcelona for MTM’s big milestone birthday, and our flight track went right over La Rochelle. I waved to you and Jenny.

  17. What type of pears did you use for this? It’s on my list to do something similar to what you made and the local co-op has a few types of pears.

  18. Fig & Quince says:

    this with a dollop of ice cream and I’d not give mango’s siren song any heed at all. Drop dead delicious photos!

  19. Oh, Mangoes, goes very well in baking, I have tried it with apples and pears, they all make a good marriage because they compliment each other, a few dollops of super creamy coconut ice cream add more excitement to that marriage! Have to keep it sweet and full of unexpected surprises!

  20. Amanda says:

    This looks gorgeous. Wow. I want some right now!

  21. There is nothing new under the sun..they say, but I’m still looking for that brilliant recipe no one has thought of yet. If only I’d thought of cronuts.. no, best that I didn’t:) Lovely dessert.. who cares if it’s a little speckled and thought of before.. no one can bake and photograph like you!! xx

Leave a Reply

