Beluga on dry toast saves me a fortune…

esnandes_pier_03nov_0011

The fingerless gloves, so redolent of Dickensian misery, would be just the job today. They would be even more the job if they weren’t fingerless as it’s the tips of my fingers that turn to  bloodless corpse white when the temperature performs that perfect jack knife off the 10m board and plummets into the  icy blue. Running on the spot or just keeping moving can suffice to warm the body, but no matter how fast I try to type, my fingertips remain insensitive white blobs, and past a certain speed I can only type random letters,  which would be like writing a novel on the Enigma machine…only warmth will set the blood coursing and warmth, particularly of the electric kind, is a luxury that I ration as carefully as the Beluga that I spoon onto my toast each morning. I’m forever planning to have toast but it would mean turning on the toaster, which expense has deterred me from buying Beluga which means that having cold hands is an extraordinarily smart way of saving money. I’m sure Warren Buffet’s hands are freezing..

egg_on_toast3_blur_0023

Tip: Try this when the larder is bereft of sturgeon eggs.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Caviar, Cooking, Cutlery, Digital photography, Eggs, Fish eggs, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Humour, Landscapes, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Beluga on dry toast saves me a fortune…

  1. Nice, pretty, economical breakfast 🙂

  2. Mad Dog says:

    It’s still too dry without butter 😉

  3. How about a pair of those mittens that you can lift the finger bit on and off of – they look a bit like something Nanny would have put on her charges in the nursery but they might be just what you need….the string attaching them to each other would be optional! Lovely breakfast with a regular egg or otherwise!

  4. cecilia says:

    A perfect little morsel.. Fingerless gloves are all the rage this winter you know! Hand knitted ones.. though i have never seen the point.. c

  5. I was a little slow on the draw today. I kept thinking, “isn’t Beluga caviar? Why is he showing a picture of an egg?” It took a moment, but I got it. I figured it out.

    It’s odd, because I’d be happy with an English muffin, jam, and coffee. I’d make a terrible billionaire.

  6. Cutting down on butter! Oh the inhumanity of it all. I’m getting into the wrist gauntlets now as our house is so cold in the winter time but I still need to knit, type, and cook. So no fingers for me!

  7. Fingerless gloves were a must when I was trying to take photos in sub-zero temps. Now I’m thrilled to give them away.
    Is it even possible to cut down on butter in France? Sounds like le vrai sacrilège to me. 🙂

  8. Victoria says:

    Wasn’t sure where you were going with that post title.

    I love bacon and eggs on toast but never eat it these days as I can’t digest any fatty stuff (without a gall bladder). Nearly all my breakfasts are gluten free rice cereal, rice milk (no cholesterol), ground linseed, pumpkin seeds & some sort of fruit. At the weekend I might have scrambled or poached eggs on toast.

    Your bacon & egg on toast looks scrumptious though. I wrap my hands around a hot mug of herbal tea in winter if my fingers get too cold. I just keep topping up the same teabag so I ultimately end up drinking hot water while sitting at my desk.

    I sometimes make a batch of hummus and have that on toast (without butter or margarine). A batch lasts about 4-5 days in the fridge. My recipe makes a fair bit though, so I usually only make a batch to share with my SIL or neighbour – hummus doesn’t freeze well.

  9. Eha says:

    re: the sturgeon eggs ~ do I HAVE to abstain? Now that you have taught us how to have lovely warm hands it is such a wonderful reason to splurge . . . [well, I can dream of days past, can’t I 🙂 ?]

  10. This comes in at a pretty good second best 🙂 (Delectable photo, by the way.)

  11. I need to find you a pair of my gloves, Roger. Fingerless, but with a flap that covers the fingers when not in use. Genius.

  12. Ooh, that last photo…perfect for breakfast.

  13. Yes, the flap turns your fingerless gloves into mittens. Very genius, especially if your are cold. Your photograph is delectable.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    I, too, have a pair of fingerless gloves with a mitten flap. I use them when I need to work outdoors or walk the dog in Winter. Yes, they’re handy bur I’d be be willing to trade them for a smidgen of Beluga. 🙂

  15. Fig & Quince says:

    The food shot is simple yet … a killer! I was biking with my fingerless gloves last night and I so relate …

  16. Karen says:

    The high is going to be 15 F tomorrow and 40 MPH winds. The ends of my fingers go numb when it is cold so I may need a pair of those gloves too.

Leave a Reply

