Fish and ships..

charron_huitrier_03nov_0038As the title of this post is totally disparate, but seemed a good idea at the time, I have included a picture of a ship….or boat, to be precise. It may only serve to show Christian Harkness, a fellow blogger at http://chrislh.wordpress.com/, the elegance of the mussel boats in the Anse d’Aiguillon, which will be reason enough.  

sea_bream_0014As the title of the post illustrates, a high proportion of my writing is picture driven, as is the case with my cooking.The photographs that I work on each day are either the result of my cooking or an inspiration for what I may be cooking next. In this case it has been a trip down memory lane. This simple dish of baked sea bream, a fish that is cheap and plentiful here, comes from Gennaro Contaldo’s book “Easy Italian”, and is something that I used to cook regularly when Camerahols was in full swing. I need to do it again.

dorade_baked_1210

recipe

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Baked sea bream, bream, Cookery Writers, Cooking, Fish, fish cookery, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, French countryside, Gennaro Contaldo, Italian food, Landscapes, Mediterranean food, Olive oil, Photography, Recipes, seafood, tomatoes, Uncategorized, Vendee, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Fish and ships..

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I love sea bream and often cook them on a bed of Mediterranean vegetables, including sliced potato. I like my fish with ships 😉

  2. Very tempting. the sea bream recipe looks good too!

  3. Another seafood to add to my must try list. That’s it I need to go back to Europe. 🙂

  4. suej says:

    Ooh, I must try this…I eat quite a lot of bream

  5. I’m not very good at cooking something with eyes! this sounds like something my sweetie would enjoy though.

  6. Maybe you can help describe the custom to me. I seem to recall an intermediate step between serving and eating. Is there a filleting maneuver that is done first? Do you pull the meat off from the tail to the head, or just eat around the bones?

  7. lulu says:

    I love fish cooked most any way, but when it comes to having one with the head on, I’m in trouble. Your recipe sounds divine, but I’ll be cooking the fish without its head.

  8. Eha says:

    Honest injun ~ the eye is supposedly the best part of the fish! Don’t know: someone has always managed to get ahead of me when the dish was divided 😉 !

  9. I just have to say I absolutely adore your blog – your photos and your writing. It’s all gorgeous.

  10. saucygander says:

    Whole fish! Eyes are one of my favourite parts. With ships.

  11. I don’t think I’ve ever had sea bream.. am longing to try:)

  12. Beautiful fish…have never tasted sea bream!

  13. That looks like my kind of dinner. Lovely cooking & lovely photos as always.
    I find your posts so atmospheric. They are a joy to read on a cold, dark evening in England.

  14. thomas peck says:

    What about the ships, chips – I mean frites! How do you do those…?

  15. Gerard Pozzi says:

    What a fantastic recipe! This is such a tempting dish and a really fresh way to prepare and serve fish. Do you use sliced lemon to cook with the fish? It gives the sea bream an extra flavor that is well-deserved. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

