Amazing place..

charron_03nov_0027As I stood, bent against the wind this beautiful morning, on the shoreline of the Anse d’Aiguillon, this remarkable place put me in mind of the opening passage of “Great Expectations”, sadly without the appearance of an unlikely benefactor…”the dark flat wilderness…intersected with dykes and mounds and gates, with scattered cattle feeding on it, was the marshes; and that the low leaden line beyond, was the river, and that the distant savage lair from which the wind was rushing was the sea.” This is a wonderful place that I have waited too long to revisit.

charron_03nov_0029 copy

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Art photography, Digital photography, Emotion, Excellence, France, French countryside, Landscapes, Photography, Sunday, Uncategorized, Vendee, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Amazing place..

  1. Mad Dog says:

    It makes me think of duck hunting 😉

  2. suej says:

    Interesting, but a bit desolate for me….oysters would redeem the place (not sure if this is a place for oyster beds)

  3. margaret21 says:

    That’s lovely. I really enjoy desolate beaches: so much more than broad yellow sands awash with beach towels and sunburnt bodies. I don’t associate such seashores with France, but then I’ve never really done French seaside so I guess I just don’t know what’s on offer.

    • France does seem to have the lot. North and South of this place are amazing deserted beaches, edged with pine forests. This particular place is a favourite of mine because it is so different…it’s a working environment for oyster and mussel producers…it was only deserted because it was low tide on an early Sunday morning…normally it’s heaving with working boats and lorries picking up mussels to deliver all over France.

  4. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. It’s not a place I’d be itching to see, but we all can appreciate individual preferences. 🙂

  5. Tessa says:

    Beautiful!

  6. What a fantastic landscape and great photos. Looks a bit familiar! 🙂

  7. Victoria says:

    What an amazing landscape. So flat and desolate looking. Love to see some more images as I don’t come across this type of landscape where I live.
    Do you get many wetlands or marsh type birds in the area?

  8. Stunning – I think I prefer beaches and coastlines when they are looking a bit desolate and dramatic.

  9. Looks like home to me, Roger.

  10. Amanda says:

    Wow that is just gorgeous!

  11. Michelle says:

    Looks like you’ve found those landscapes, Roger. (And, if you find the unlikely benefactor, send him my way. :))

  12. Eha says:

    Both perfect photos, moody and evocative . . . but not for me ~ give me a tropical beach of soft sand which looks warm in a picture, give me palms and low coral reefs with water of all hues of blue and green . . . then I’ll smile and feel comfortable . . . 🙂 !

    • This is a place of work for the most part, not for me but for the hundreds of oyster and mussel cultivators that work here. For me, it’s a place of contemplation and fulfilling visual inspiration. I can promise you that it’s not a place to lay down in…..my shoes are so caked in mud, they may never recover:)

      • Eha says:

        Roger ~ a lesson I thought would be there anyways well learnt! I respect the place for what it is and what it does . . . I just ‘moved away’ a long time ago and at certain times when I need the sun and the warmth . . this would be too desolate . . . even if beautiful on a printed page . . . horse for courses at differing tmes . . .

  13. Getting lost in the horizon, a place to give the busy mind a rest. Beautiful, Roger!

  14. saucygander says:

    I would have said the appearance of a terrifying convict, complete with clinking chains! Or maybe I’m still in a Halloween mood.

  15. cecilia says:

    Oh I do miss the sea, .there is a little space in all our minds that waits for that first step into landscapes such as this.. we open like petals touched by sunlght and sigh with pleasure.. wonderful images.. c

  16. This makes me miss the mussels I used to eat in Bretagne. Nothing like them.
    Wonderful patterns in the sand in that first photo.

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    How I would love to near a landscape this beautiful, to be able to return there throughout the year and watch it change with the seasons. To find a stump, a log, or a relatively clear patch of ground upon which to sit and just watch. Bliss.

    • You would love it, John. One can buy the most wonderful oysters and mussels directly from the boats.Some of the ostreiculteurs have little restaurants next to their cleaning tanks where you can take a glass of wine with your seafood.

  18. Stunning photography and beautiful prose, what a lovely gift this morning! Thank you!

  19. catterel says:

    This reminds me of “my” beach in Brittany that i haven’t been able to visit for the last 3 years – wild, also with clumps of mussels on the rocks and wonderful skyscapes.

  20. I hope you had your gumboots on, Roger 🙂 I really like these moody photos — reminds me a little of Charleston. You’d like it there.

  21. Sara says:

    Seeing this image I was very suddenly transported back to my fabulous time with you guys. Trust the year has treated you both well. Can you believe I got commissioned to do some food photography a couple of weeks ago! – kept thinking ‘What would Roger do?’ went OK but very nerve wracking!
    Fished this shot out from all those years ago.
    http://7275.tifmember.com/v/photos/blank/7316435
    xx

    • That’s quite surreal…I shot the same shot on Sunday morning last. Nearly exactly the same, save for showing the horizon and sky! Haven’t been down there for about 2 years. Great to hear from you and glad things are going well.Food photographer as well now…very impressive. Speak soon:)

  22. I’ll join the long line of people who say these photos remind them of home…. Nostalgic, brooding and autumnal, just my cup of tea for an afternoon walk. If there are seagulls too, it’d be ideal for MM.

Leave a Reply

