As the sun goes down, a meringue comes up..

meringues_spoons_0005

The change of season is never more apparent to a food photographer than when taking a daylight picture as the light of the day has begun to fade. On a good day, such as today, it fades away gloriously, but quickly, which means that the birth of the finished meringues must be left to your imagination and to my pleasure.

meringues_spoons_0011

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, baking, Cooking, Digital photography, Emotion, Excellence, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, meringues, Photography, Still life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to As the sun goes down, a meringue comes up..

  1. jmcheney says:

    In my hometown childhood in Kentucky, a best friend’s Mama made divine “Egg Kisses” & filled them with fresh strawberries & whipped cream. Over the long years since then I’ve saved Gourmet & H&G’s recipes for piped meringues filled with with fresh peaches & brandied sauce to key lime pie filling etc. But the first memories are indelible of “Egg Kisses’ with strawberries from the garden.Your photographs are gorgeous & probably very like those long ago kisses. Merci mille fois for the sensational taste memory of temps perdus.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I saw Raymond Blanc use a salty meringue as a crust for a leg of lamb on TV recently. The meringue baked hard and sealed all the flavour into the lamb. I was quite impressed.
    Nice light, especially on the meringues πŸ˜‰

  3. I think that is one of the most sensuous of your many sensuous photos. I love the swirls in the low-level light. It makes me want to dip a finger in the mix . . . no, wait, I want to see a lovely lady dip her finger in the mix and then slowly . . . er, I had better stop here.

  4. margaret21 says:

    Great sensuous photos. They even convinced me to give meringues another go, though I usually find there’s nothing much exciting about them as a taste experience.

  5. Beautiful, what did you do with them…a little creme fraiche and fruit perhaps? Love those spoons, actually, I lust after them.

  6. saucygander says:

    These photos are more evocative than most meringue photos I’ve seen, just gorgeous. If I was a five year old, I’d be very tempted to stick my finger in… πŸ˜€

  7. We love your antique spoons! Did you buy them at a marchΓ© aux puces in France? Thanks!

  8. What? No light tent? πŸ˜‰

  9. Victoria says:

    You’ve captured the twirls of meringue so perfectly in the fading light.
    Beautiful images.
    You make those shadows seem altogether quite sensuous & sexy (in a nice way I mean).

  10. Michelle says:

    Beautiful, Roger. And, oh, how I do adore meringues.

  11. Eha says:

    Being a greedy one, I make just one much larger and call it Pavlova πŸ™‚ ! Yours look most moreish!

  12. Oh, you’ve caught the light on that wonderful gray and gold so beautifully. Yum.

  13. Besides all that, I love the spoons, they look just like the ones I have just inheritated from my grandmother. It’s so precious to use the silver of our ancestors, still I have to get used to it, instead of saving them for what?????

  14. best part though, is licking the bowl!

  15. Misky says:

    That first photo is so warm and deep in texture, and the second one is just begging for me to bite it. πŸ™‚

  16. That’s one of the things on my list to figure out for lighting as our days get shorter. Our kitchen is in the back of the house and the sun sets at the front. And it’s dark at dinner time so natural light for the meals isn’t there!

  17. I think meringues must be among the most satisfying things to create. They look so amazing and people snap them up. Your unfinished ones look so perfect in consistency I am green with envy.

  18. That meringue is so beautiful

  19. The lighting on that photo is fabulous. Thanks for reminding me that meringues exist…. and have no fat in them. But how can I eat meringues without whipped cream?

  20. Gerard Pozzi says:

    Very clever blog post!

Leave a Reply

