Hump day…and no wonder

°bent_tree_pond_0024

This morning, as I opened the back door to let our guests go outside for a shit, I was confused. We were recently gifted a thermometer that not only displays the temperature outside and inside the house, but also sports the graphic of a “petit bonhomme” who digitally dresses in an outfit that the mind of thermometer feels would be appropriate for the day. Razor sharp eye sight is not part of my gene pool, yet I still chose to be a photographer. This must have been because I was too short to be a Navy pilot. Back to the eyesight. My first glance at the thermometer coincided with the icy fingers that clawed at me through the open door. I was surprised to read that the outside temperature was 17ºC ;  so surprised in fact that it caused me to shout a pithy comment to Jenny “amazing, it’s 17 degrees outside” and immediately felt warm, left the door open so that our guests could come back in when they wished, and put on the coffee. The morning continued in its normal pattern with time spent at the computer, a shower and a slow progress back downstairs. “Fuck me, it’s cold”  whispered my hot shower refreshed senses, “…and why in God’s name is the door open?”. Our guests were sitting quietly on the sofa, clad in black Astrakhan coats, which begged the same question. Luckily, I must have subliminally noticed the thermometer’s wardrobe suggestion which, like Henry Ford only offers a black option, as I was indeed wearing the suggested black trousers and top that were recommended for the current 3.5º C which is the current temperature of house and garden and which is why I have the hump.

field_cottage1_0019

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Digital photography, Dogs, Emotion, Expectation, France, Humour, Illusion, Landscapes, lifestyle, Photography, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Hump day…and no wonder

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Cook something nice, it will cheer you up and warm you up 😉

  2. Let me guess, you missed a decimal point?

  3. saucygander says:

    ha! Makes me think of the time I complained about the cold, and someone observed my (fishnet) stockings had holes in them. Thanks….

  4. HA! This is brilliant on so many levels. thank you, Roger.

  5. Cara Hobday says:

    Brilliant, as usual! Do you know that the Indian tradition recommends that on mornings like that you walk around on the dewy grass in bare feet to refresh your circulation? I will let you know how it goes, if and when ever, I try it….!

  6. Sounds like a great thermometer. I probably need one or probably not. It’s cold in Stuttgart. Point.

  7. 😀 What polite guests you have…..but I’m sure the bracing fresh air did them good…

  8. Your pictures look warmer than you sound. Stay warm… as I heat up in the desert…!

  9. I am so glad I don’t have to go outside to do my business. Brr. But, I need one of those thermometers to tell me what to wear. MTM just shrugs when I ask him.

  10. No walking aorund in bare feet and undies any more Roger…..

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    A great post, Roger, but I will not have one of those thermometers. It is hard enough to get motivated on a cold Winter’s morning. Seeing that it’s -10˚F and a parka-dressed little man won’t help matters.

  12. Misky says:

    What a giggle. Happy days, Roger, happy days.

  13. oh I so needed this chuckle! Always good to laugh at someone’s expense! Keep door closed, stay warm!

Leave a Reply

