Beau laid……

Sitting by my computer I can see and hear the rain lashing against my window, making me remember the sun and blue skies of yesterday afternoon when the sun light seemed to saturate the colour of everything that it touched. I set out to photograph idyllic pastoral images to reflect my immediate feelings of the day. At the top of the hill, about 2kms from the house, is a recently constructed depot for the storage of sand and other materials that the local farming cooperatives need, and it took my attention.

sandpits1_0001

storage_depot_0011

gravel_pile_0007sand_pile_pointed_0009

sand_pile_low_0008

yellow_tubes_0004

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Digital photography, Farming, France, French countryside, Landscapes, Landscapes, Photography, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Beau laid……

  1. lulu says:

    So little sand for such a large facility. More coming?

  2. I’m torn about the last picture. The drainage tile, or what would most likely be considered drainage tile here in the States, is a vivid yellow. Its nature also provides a stark contrast to the pasture behind it.

  3. I love the contours and textures in the first photo of sand. We will need some of that here today.. it’s snowing like crazy!!

  4. cecilia says:

    that top image is stunning, just stunning.. c

  5. Fig & Quince says:

    I really like the concept of “beau laid” but find almost all of the pix tilting towards “beau” & find the last pic simply striking. Beautiful

  6. margaret21 says:

    Great set of pictures though I am particularly drawn to the first one. How DID you avoid the power lines though? There must have been some….

  7. Industrial nature — this is a great series for interpretation 🙂

  8. I do hope you have a fireplace or wood stove to warm your body and soul when those cold rains lash out! 🙂

  9. Lori M-I says:

    I really like the strong horizontal divisions in all the compositions.

  10. Eha says:

    [smiling] I simply cannot see anything as neat and tidy in Australia as what you have depicted in your photos . . . . well, supposedly there are always ‘better things’ to do than neatify 🙂 !

  11. Great images, I like the lines and structure. Now I feel hungry , waiting for more images of your splendid food pleasures. LOL

  12. Victoria says:

    Just reading about the storms that hit France (& the UK). Hope your rain isn’t part of that storm front sweeping across.

    That first photo looks rather unusual. It sort of looks like a range of desert mountains with concrete walls extending from a ‘mountain range’. I guess it’s an illusion from having the sky & clouds in the background (with no other landscape features in between).

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    I agree with Celi, Roger. That first photo is a beauty. I’ve gone back to look at it a few times. It reminds me of an archaeological dig. All that’s missing is the facade of an ancient temple peaking out from the wall of sand.

  14. I am so glad you have decided to get out more with your camera, Roger. I am going to learn more about seeing the world by looking at it through your lens. Thank you.

  15. Karen says:

    Only you can make pipes and sand look so good. Haven’t seen much news while traveling but hopefully you didn’t get any bad effects from the storm I just recently heard about.

Leave a Reply

