The end is nigh…

Charron_storm_0078

Baie d’Aiguillon. 2008

Over the past few months, whilst trawling through my files of digital pictures, I have became aware of a loss: I have become aware that new landscapes are noticeable by their absence. Nature’s moments can only be  interpreted by those who are present at the moments that nature performs her theatre. It’s clear that I have not, for some time, been amongst the audience, save in the tiny corner in which we live.

The uncovering of buried treasure or the notification that one is the holder of a winning lottery ticket demand that one must either be digging regularly or be buying lottery tickets. Landscapes are similarly demanding. You have to be there.

The nub of the matter, or at least of this post, is that I am not getting out enough. This has made me realise that my catalogue of digital landscapes was, for the most part, created when I was on location with many of you during our outings with Camerahols. The lack of landscapes tells its own story, so from the end of this year, we will sadly no longer be offering the opportunity for people to come here to learn a little about photography whilst  eating and drinking well, and laughing a lot.

It’s high time that I went out to look at more of this amazing place, in which we happily live, so that I might learn a little more just by being there and looking.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Digital photography, France, French countryside, Landscapes, Landscapes, Photography, photography course, Photography holiday, Uncategorized, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to The end is nigh…

  1. What are you talking about?!! I couldn’t bear it if you refuse to let me “come there to learn a little about photography whilst eating and drinking well, and laughing a lot.” Kevin’s retiring! This has got to be some kind of bad phase you’re going through! No need to panic.

  2. Victoria says:

    Very striking image, Roger.
    Great atmosphere….I’m glad I’m not out in that weather.

  3. I’m really pleased for you Roger… I think that you have to feed your own soul, to in turn be able to feed that of others. Enjoy getting back out there!
    Amazing photo – great day to be on the beach with a camera in hand!

  4. margaret21 says:

    Wonderful photo. And just when I was thinking I would have to come and profit from your skills and guidance one day …. you pull the rug from under our feet. But you’re right. Exploring the ‘coin’ is one of the privileges of being here, and among our particualr pleasures

  5. Fantastic photo, Roger. Nothing like being in the right place at the right time and having your camera at the ready. Good luck on your noble quest.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    That reminds me of spending hours in the dark room with some chemicals made by Colorvir – now you can take your laptop with you (should you want to) and sit in a field with a camera and Photoshop. I prefer the latter idea 😉

  7. I am very sorry to hear that you are ending Camerahols. Another visit is on my list, it is just taking me some time to bring it to the top. However, you, like James Bond, should never say never, and so I will (perhaps overly optimistically) continue to think that at some stage you can be coaxed away from your self-imposed exile in the landscape, and once again Suzanne and I can enjoy “learning a little about photography whilst eating and drinking well, and laughing a lot.”

    Whatever you do, please keep posting in this blog. — James

  8. Andrew Fenney says:

    I predict a riot!

  9. The photo is fabulous – there’s so much deth of field that I felt like I could walk straight in and paddle. Have fun getting out and about 🙂

  10. Fig & Quince says:

    What a fabulously moody photo and I love the stillness and yet all the movement. Wonderful! But what is this about no longer learning, eating, laughing? Looks like I’m too late to the game. Oh no

  11. catterel says:

    Incredible photo – want to project it onto my wall! Mille graces!

  12. Well, I think it’s a wonderful idea to see and be in new places. Why not! It’s out there to be enjoyed.

  13. If I am really quiet, can I still come and just follow you around while you take pictures? You don’t have to teach. MTM would even cook.

  14. I’m disappointed I may never have the chance to experience Camerahols, but look forward to more stunning photos like this one. I need to get out more too.

  15. I look forward to seeing your new pictures from your new journeys. Happy trails, Roger!

  16. Cry “Havoc,” and let slip the dogs of travel. Good hunting, Roger.

  17. I think you’re doing just fine with your blog so whatever else you will be sharing with us, I am looking forward to!

  18. G’day! There is something hauntingly beautiful in your photo too!
    Very expressive and made me happy, not sad to view!
    Cheers! Joanne

  19. Michelle says:

    I feel torn between echoing Rosemary’s comment (being extremely happy that I had the opportunity to “learn a little about photography whilst eating and drinking well, and laughing a lot” and hoping I can do it again one day) and Misti’s “happy trails.” So, go forth, soak up those landscapes, but then come back!

  20. ChgoJohn says:

    Let me see if I understand. You’re stopping Camerols so that you can better enjoy your surroundings. What took you so long? 😉
    Good luck to you, Roger.

  21. Amazing photo Roger! And don’t think this big decision of yours means that if we happen to be passing we might not just knock on your door waving a crate of wine and a chunk of manchego demanding entry to your home 😉

  22. Very sad to see the back of Camerahols, but looking hugely forward to your expeditions, Roger.Today’s photo is amazing.

  23. What a wonderful idea.. push everything inside, pick up one’s camera and go exploring. There’s so much appeal and everything that’s “right” in that.. just remember to share with us!

Leave a Reply

