You can’t always get..

cloud_rocks_10_0028

My mind, or that section of the jumble of grey matter that remembers things, is light sensitive. Light, in all its nuances, is a trigger for my memories. The light then and the light now are inextricably linked..I think. Or maybe it’s just today; a day of living in a revolving door leading to and from the depths of sunshine and the bright blackness of a mausoleum.

These pictures are not of today; they are of then. But then and now are so alike it could be now, or then again…

beach_children_10_0045

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Digital photography, Dreams, France, French countryside, Ile d'Oleron, Illusion, Landscapes, Memory, Photography, Reality, Uncategorized, Virtual, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to You can’t always get..

  1. Dick Polak says:

    Today is a lot darker than then, or is it the other way around ?

  2. Janet Rörschåch says:

    Love the phrasing, Roger. Exquisite.

  3. Live for today – that’s my only advice!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    …perhaps you’ll get what you need 😉

  5. Wow, love the negative space in the first photo!

  6. Victoria says:

    I love the red-capped figures in the bottom right of the second photo. Somehow reminds me of a seaside painting back 50 years ago when I was small.

  7. The grass is always greener… 🙂 Gorgeous shots. Very meditative.

  8. I love them both, for different reasons. One is happy. The other menacing. Or something.

  9. saucygander says:

    Yes! The light in Sydney looks different, somehow, from the light in southern France, but it is also changeable, harsh and moody by turns.

  10. Different triggers. My memories are often cataloged by song and scent. Huey Lewis and the News will forever remind me of the summer of ’87.

  11. Now and Then are so close to each other that it almost doesn’t matter, but only almost!

  12. catterel says:

    Lovely. The comment about the red caps reminds me – on a “lighter” note: I was once asked by a friend about to snap a beautiful view to go and stand in the foreground as “I need something red there.” Good for my overblown ego to be reduced to “something red in the foreground”. .-)

  13. Amazing perspective, Roger; and beautiful pictures. Turneresque. I never valued the light properly until I began taking a lot of photographs. Now it can make or break a day for me.

  14. I really like the pop of red from the kids’ hats.

  15. Michelle says:

    But if you try sometimes… (Yeah, I know, Mad Dog beat me to it.)

Leave a Reply

