The weatherman said rain today…

rain_window_flower5_0010
In fact it didn’t rain at all, which was disappointing as it meant that I had to make a pale imitation of nature’s work. I had planned to do a speculative shot of flowers through a rain drop covered window pane. My rain drops, created with the garden hose, fell short of the ever evolving unique patterns that falling rain produces, but it meant that the camera and I stayed dry. We also stayed cold, which I mention as it was the first time, since last winter, that had me wondering why I wasn’t wearing socks. It wasn’t “freezing” but it was a noticeably different temperature to previous days. This was a clear moment of change. At the end of the garden the sun was shining, still giving enough warmth to accommodate sockless attire; conversely, to be ย in the shade of the house, a distance of some 20 metres, demanded very substantial foot covering. There will be no sand in my shoes for a while.

beach_house2_2387

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in Art photography, Digital photography, Emotion, Expectation, France, Garden, Ile d'Oleron, Landscapes, lifestyle, Photography, Seasons, Still life, Uncategorized, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to The weatherman said rain today…

  1. now I’m totally disillusioned! I was commenting to my sweetie today how accurate the weather forecasting has been the past month here. As opposed to home where they are right about 60% of the time!

  2. suej says:

    Well, lucky you with no rain – here in my part of England it’s raining, very windy and therefore cold. Ugh! Like your first shot, hosepipe or no hosepipe!

  3. Roger, it is a beautiful snap nonetheless and for some reason I’ve always been more prone to go without socks during colder months than warmer. I have no idea why?

  4. MELewis says:

    It’s only a matter of time…sending the rain your way from the damp and chilly Alps!

  5. Mother Nature has a way of flipping the switch and suddenly it’s time for layers again.

  6. Misky says:

    A splendid photo. It’s tipping down here but Saturday looks brighter!

  7. anne54 says:

    I love the idea that you “cheated” with the photo, because when I first saw it I thought it looked delightfully moody!!
    That dilemma of clothing at the change of seasons. I find layering is the way to deal with different temperatures in shade/sun/outside/inside. Doesn’t help with socks though…..
    .Soon you will be able to use that wood you were chopping earlier in the week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Are your feet like thermometers, Roger? Mine are, and I can tell when it’s going to be cooler by how cold they are. I spend much of the winter in a pair of hideous green socks.

  9. I don’t care what the weatherman says
    When the weatherman says it’s raining
    You’ll never hear me complaining
    (Actually, you’ll hear me moaning as I hate rain…a necessary evil!). It’s peeing down here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So I’ll just enjoy your beautiful shot and go and put my thermal socks on!

  10. Rachel says:

    Oh pretty… real or not! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Roger, is that your home on the beach? the temps have dipped in LA too and funnily enough, I think I need socks too ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Could of fooled me with the rain soaked window… ๐Ÿ™‚ Quite comical imagining you soaking the window for the shoot. It is a very lovely photograph.

  13. We had our first rainstorm since last winter and it is cold for Southern California. Might have to give up the sandals soon.

  14. It rained here. And we got the chill; October is properly here.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    Do not go gentle into that good cold, Roger! I refuse to do so and will continue to wear my shorts and sandals into November, when out farmers markets close for the season. I may look the fool but I’m making a statement here.

  16. Janet Rรถrschรฅch says:

    Oh my goodness. I am just in love with these two photos. Absolutely lovely.

  17. Mad Dog says:

    He got it wrong today – it was even sunny at times ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. We leave for Europe on Thursday so I don’t mind if the rain stays away a few more weeks ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. I find your rainy window pane very convincing. Our weather forecast has been wrong for the last week, but it’s in our favour, so I’m not complaining!

  20. Sorry the weather’s not cooperating for you, Roger. I’ll have to give it a stern talking to, when I get home.

Leave a Reply

