Up close and personal with a cultivated beauty….

tomatoes_LaM_0018

There was no swelling music in the background, nor the flickering light of a city burning on the horizon, as I held up my first born tomatoes. I refrained from asking God to witness the event and though the words “I’ll never be hungry again” passed through my mind, they didn’t pass  my lips: not that any passer-by would have understood the words, but more worryingly would not have been at all surprised to see me talking to myself, and would probably have been relieved to see that, for a change, I was not selfishly keeping my carefully considered opinions to myself but was sharing them with a tomato.

Once the physical beauty has been enjoyed, the tomato offers little in the way of sociability, which characteristic bears a startling similarity to many of today’s cultivated beauties. This similarity ends when it comes to taste. Unlike many bipedal, cultivated beauties, the tomato has great taste. Maybe that should read “has a great taste” but that’s not what I wrote, nor do I have the knowledge to make that comparison.

I’m awaiting the ripening of these two tomatoes’ cohorts, who remain on the vine drinking as much as they can and warming themselves in the late summer sun. Bipedal, cultivated beauties also like to drink a lot and go red in the sun. You’d think they were vegetables if you didn’t know any better.

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Digital photography, Emotion, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Fruit, Humour, Illusion, Photography, tomatoes, Vendee, Weather, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Up close and personal with a cultivated beauty….

  1. cecilia says:

    I read the heading for this post and thought.. The Tomatoes! At last he is going to show us his tomatoes. How can you bear to eat them? Beautiful shot, my favourite kind actually. Atmospheric tomatoes. Good morning.. c

  2. They are the beauty queens of tomatoes and I hope you sprinkled them with a little maldon salt and a drizzle of olive oil in their moment of crowning glory!

  3. Sally says:

    Beauties indeed – and if we are allowed to talk about eating them I agree with the merest hint of salt – but olive oil is gilding the …tomato!

  4. margaret21 says:

    Mmmm. Bet they taste as good as they look. I may have to come and steal some. Our crop – tasty but not prolific this year – is all but over.

  5. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    Beautiful specimens. If they taste even half as good as they look, you’ll be well rewarded.

    Nice lighting too. Tomatoes (eggs & chicken) are ‘must have’s’ for salt.

  6. saucygander says:

    That is a stunning photograph, almost with a monumental quality.
    You sound every bit the proud father. 🙂

  7. I’m not sure you intended it that way, but check out the second definition down:

    http://www.thefreedictionary.com/tomato

    The only reason I’m remotely aware of that little tidbit is through a Clark Gable movie I watched about a year ago. The actual tomatoes look great, too!

  8. You show better restraint than I do. The first ones I pick are eaten before I even take a few steps towards the house! They never have time to be photographed. 🙂 I love fresh off the vine tomatoes.

  9. Mad Dog says:

    They do look like beauties – you must have put a lot of love into the watering 😉

  10. Fantastic – I do envy you ’cause getting really good tomatoes seems to be next to impossible around here. If you try growing them yourself, the raccoons get them before they are fully ripe! 🙂

  11. Misky says:

    Roger, may I ask where your point of focus is in this photo? It’s this aspect that I often find difficult to determine. Thank you!

  12. The bipedal cultivated beauties of this world should aspire to be even half as charming and poised as your blushing beauties!

  13. Eha says:

    Methinks Scarlett O’Hara did not quite have tomatoes in mind . . . [still remember the backlit fist high in the air 🙂 !]

  14. Tessa says:

    Gorgeous tomatoes!

  15. Those tomatoes are simple and beautiful.

  16. Congratulations! Beautiful babies- not a wrinkle on them. You don’t say what their names are, or when the CHristening (with vinaigrette) is planned….

  17. So you are a gardener of the growing kind! I’m sure I can hear a faint drumroll…..

  18. I really have to plant tomatoes this year!

  19. catterel says:

    Exquisit – tomatoes and photo. I had 3 little sweeties that turned red all by themselves, but now the vine is loaded with shameless hussies that refuse to blush. Doomed to Chutney?.

  20. Tomatoes on the brain here too. Such a beautiful pair.

  21. thomas peck says:

    Lovely photo as always. I’m jealous of your eye…., and your cooking!

  22. ChgoJohn says:

    These are why I grow tomatoes. “Beauty” doesn’t begin to describe them.

  23. Roger, that is an amazing picture.

  24. nusrat2010 says:

    Beauty agent indeed 🙂
    Ravishing treasures!

  25. I just saw a picture from Marseilles in the NYT T-Magazine. It showed an open air market with good looking tomatoes for 1 Euro per kilo. Boy, I have not seen tomatoes at that low a price in years. Is that what you pay in Provence?

    • At this time of year the producers are selling off the tomatoes at very low prices.The road side stalls near us in the Vendee ( not Provence, we’re on the Atlantic Coast) the price is the same. They normally have 6 or 8 kilo boxes prepared for about 5€. Everyone is busy making tomato sauce to store for winter and spring consumption.

  26. Hey Roger, my apologies for the ‘Provence’ glitch – ‘senior moment’ don’t you know.Hmm, don’t think I know of anybody who still makes tomato sauce to ‘put away.’ We are losing lots of good foods, good customs rather too quickly!

Leave a Reply

