The relief of La Moussiere……

leek_potato_soup3_0015Leek and potato soup is a very comforting dish indeed and comfort was what we craved last night. Hanging over us was the threat of abluting under a  cold shower in the morning unless the relief column, which hopefully included a plumber, got through to La Moussiere. We needed consolation and warmth and the best way to get it was from our food. This classic soup succeeded in doing this to great effect whilst simultaneously stirring the recollection of a long forgotten soup story.

A little known, but classic Steve McQueen war movie, “Hell is for Heroes”, also stars the great comedian Bob Newhart as a flaky army clerk who mistakenly arrives, and is subsequently stuck, in a desperately undermanned front line position. Having no aggressive military talent he is called upon to fabricate, on a phone line tapped by the enemy, the illusion of a huge garrison groaning under the weight of too many men, too much ammunition and too much leisure. The telling line for me is when he nervously informs an imaginary quartermaster than the men are getting surly over seeing the same film 5 nights in a row and that they are also complaining that the Vichyssoise in the canteen tastes like cold potato soup. That gave the Boche a good laugh over ” die dummkopf americanische” and soup saved the day yet again.  I should mention that my German is only remembered from comic books and is written whilst trying to imitate Arnold Schwarzenegger’s voice.

There is a small amount of our soup left that I shall finesse into a Vichyssoise for a lunchtime snack in the sun. I shall let you know if the flavour of leeks is equal to the potatoes. What is more, tomorrow we shall be having hot showers as La Moussiere has been relieved.

leek and potato soup2

About Food,Photography & France

Photographer and film maker living in France. After a long career in London, my wife and I have settled in the Vendee, where we run residential digital photography courses with a strong gastronomic flavour.
This entry was posted in 2013, Chicken, Cookery Writers, Cream, Cuisine bourgeoise, Digital photography, Expectation, food, Food and Photography, Food photographer, France, Humour, Leek and potato soup, Photography, Recipes, Soup, Terence and Vicki Conran, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to The relief of La Moussiere……

  1. I’ll be getting cracking on soups as soon as the temperature goes down a bit. Leek and potato is one of my favourites 🙂 Now off to try out my Arnie impressions.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a beautiful soup!
    I’m sure you’ve heard Bob Newhart and Walter Raleigh on tobacco 😉

  3. Gorgeous recipe and so glad the (plumbing) troops relieved you!

  4. Love the Bob Newhart story.

    Leek and potato soup is one of MTM’s and my favorites. In fact, when I was growing up and got sick, I always preferred it to chicken noodle. Much more comforting, somehow.

  5. suej says:

    Love the Bob Newhart story… Glad your ablutions have warmed up. 🙂

  6. Good looking soup. The weather for this is almost here!

  7. cecilia says:

    They used to tell me that nothing sounds good in German, but i guess I was not thinking of arnie, though he is austrian it is a very fine line.. I have to say it and apologise in advance but “I’ll be back!” OK, I’ll get my coat, let myself out.. c

  8. That photo…WOW! You do so well.

  9. I hate cold showers. If that were to happen to me, I’d be as calm as possible on the outside but letting fly a tirade on the inside. Good to know they fixed it before it became an issue.

    There is one unusual note in this post though. You made mention of American film, and while it should not, I’m a little surprised. Being an older hippie, as you’ve mentioned before, does the older American war films pique you interest for any particular reason?

    • It was the cast that piqued the interest…at the time anything with Steve McQueen was to be watched. The addition of James Coburn ( still hot from the Magnificent 7) and Bob Newhart made “Hell is For Heroes” a sort of minor cult film.

  10. Lovely movie story Roger. I’m sure you are glad that you have hot water again 🙂

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Bob Newhart has always been a favorite. Casting him in that role was genius and so totally unexpected. Cooler weather is coming our way, Roger. There’s no stopping it. This soup will at least make it more bearable. That’s no small feat, considering our weather.

  12. argone says:

    Thank you for this recipe … very nice shot !

  13. Beautiful shot. Definitely making this when our weather cools off.

  14. That looks like a bowl full of comfort if ever I saw one.

  15. A superlative soup, Roger. My favourite.

  16. I’ve been taking cold showers recently — a necessary cool down from this heat wave 🙂

  17. I do like a good leek and potato soup!

  18. Karen says:

    Beautifully served bowl of soup, Roger. I also love it as a base for Vichyssoise…delicious.

  19. margaret21 says:

    Oooh. Leek and potato soup. A real favourite. But a reminder that winter days are on the march…..

Leave a Reply

